Skip to main content

Pac-12 Announces Baseball All-Conference Honors

Jun 2, 2016

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 Conference announced today the baseball All-Pac-12 honors for the 2016 season, as determined by a polling of the Conference coaches. CALIFORNIA’s Brett Cumberland was voted Pac-12 Player of the Year, while OREGON STATE's Logan Ice was tabbed Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. Fellow Beaver Nick Madrigal was named Pac-12 Freshman of the Year while WASHINGTON's Troy Rallings was voted Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year. UTAH head coach Bill Kinneberg was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year. USC's David Oppenheim was crowned the Pac-12 Batting Champion with a Conference-leading .387 batting average. The All-Pac-12 teams were also announced. 

Pac-12 Player of the Year – Brett Cumberland, C, California
Cumberland (Turlock, Calif.) is the first Pac-12 Player of the Year from California since Tony Renda in 2011 and the fifth all-time. The sophomore catcher did it all offensively for the Golden Bears during the 2016 season. He led the Pac-12 in home runs with 16 which is currently tied for the 22nd-best total in the country. He was also the league-leader in RBI with 51 and tops in slugging percentage at .678. Cumberland was second in the Pac-12 in total bases with 122 and second in on-base percentage at .480. Cumberland earned Pac-12 Player of the Week honors twice during the season, on April 4 and May 16, and earned All-Pac-12 accolades. The sophomore is also one of 25 semifinalists for the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award, awarded to the top amateur baseball player in the United States.

Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year – Logan Ice, C, Oregon State
Ice (Puyallup, Wash.) is the first Beaver to be named the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year since the award's inception in 2013. The junior catcher played in all 54 games and accounted for 325 putouts on the year with 72 assists and only four errors to boast a 9.90 field percentage. Ice also contributed offensively with 54 hits, seven home runs and 39 RBI. He also had a .563 slugging percentage and a .432 on-base percentage. Ice is also a member of the Pac-12 All-Defensive team and was the March 8 Pac-12 Player of the Week.

Pac-12 Freshman of the Year – Nick Madrigal, 2B, Oregon State
For the second-straight year and the fourth time in the last five years, an Oregon State Beaver has been named the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year. Madrigal (Elk Grove, Calif.) had a batting average of .333 and hit five triples on the year for the Beavers while also driving in 29 runs and posting a slugging percentage of .456. The freshman drew 15 walks, laid down 11 sacrifice bunts and only struck out once every 13.9 at bats. In the field, the second baseman had 56 putouts, 144 assists and a field percentage of .976. Madrigal was named to the All-Pac-12 team as well as the Pac-12 All-Defensive team. He was the first Pac-12 Player of the Week of the 2016 season on February 23.

Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year – Troy Rallings, RP, Washington
Rawlings is the first Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year from Washington since Tim Lincecum in 2006 and the third all-time. In 28 appearances and 61.0 innings of work, Rallings (Carlsbad, Calif.) has allowed only six earned runs, boasting an ERA of 0.89 which is second in the country. Rallings also has the nation’s best WHIP (WHIP is calculated by adding the number of walks and hits allowed and dividing this sum by the number of innings pitched) rating at 0.72. The senior has now earned 31 saves over the course of his career which is tied for the fourth-best total in Conference history. A semifinalist for the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award, Rallings is also tied for second in the nation in saves with 16. He was also named to the All-Pac-12 team.

Pac-12 Coach of the Year – Bill Kinneberg, Utah
Kinneberg has been named the Pac-12 Coach of the Year, the first in Utah program history. Kinneberg led the Utes to the Pac-12 title in 2016 after finishing in last place in 2015, something that hasn't been done in the Conference since Stanford was last in the Pac-10 South in 1993 then won the South in 1994. Kinneberg's squad went 19-11 in league play (25-27 overall) and had four student-athletes earn All-Pac-12 honors. Under his tutelage, two student-athletes also earned Pac-12 Player of the Week honors during the season. He led Utah to its first postseason berth since 2009 and fifth all-time.

Pac-12 Batting Champion – David Oppenheim, USC
Oppenheim (Mercer Island, Wash.) is the Pac-12 Batting Champion after posting a .387 batting average on the year. The senior designated hitter started in all 53 games for the Trojans and recorded 74 hits, including four home runs, while driving in 25 runs. He had a slugging percentage of .508 and an on-base percentage of .500, tops on the team.


Name Pos. Yr. School
Ryan Aguilar 1B Sr. Arizona
Nathan Bannister SP Sr. Arizona
Bobby Dalbec RP Jr. Arizona
Zach Gibbons OF Sr. Arizona
Cody Ramer 2B Sr. Arizona
David Greer 1B Jr. Arizona State
Seth Martinez SP Jr. Arizona State
Brian Serven C Jr. Arizona State
Colby Woodmansee SS Jr. Arizona State
Brett Cumberland C So. California
Mitchell Kranson 3B Sr. California
Cole Irvin SP Jr. Oregon
Stephen Nogosek RP Jr. Oregon
Christian Donahue OF So. Oregon State
KJ Harrison 1B So. Oregon State
Logan Ice C Jr. Oregon State
Nick Madrigal 2B Fr. Oregon State
Tristan Beck SP Fr. Stanford
Tommy Edman SS Jr. Stanford
Eric Filia OF Sr. UCLA
Jeremy Martinez C Jr. USC
AJ Ramirez OF Sr. USC
David Oppenheim DH Sr. USC
Dallas Carroll 3B Jr. Utah
DaShawn Keirsey, Jr. OF Fr. Utah
Jayson Rose SP So. Utah
Cody Scaggari SS Sr. Utah
Chris Baker 3B Jr. Washington
Jack Meggs OF Jr. Washington
Joey Morgan C So. Washington
Troy Rallings RP Sr. Washington
Trek Stemp 2B RS-Jr. Washington State

Honorable Mention: J.C. Cloney, ARIZ; Jordan Aboites, ASU; Gage Canning, ASU; Eder Erives, ASU ; Andrew Shaps, ASU; Nick Halamandaris, CAL; Erik Martinez, CAL ; Ryan Mason, CAL; Robbie Tenerowicz, CAL; A.J. Balta, ORE; Jake Bennett, ORE; Austin Grebeck, ORE; Bryce Fehmel, OSU; Quinn Brodey, STAN; Chris Castellanos, STAN; Alex Dunlap, STAN; Colton Hock, STAN; Matt Winaker, STAN; Griffin Canning, UCLA; Kyle Molnar, UCLA; Luke Perisco, UCLA; Corey Dempster, USC; Marc Huberman, USC; Brooks Kriske, USC; Joe Navilhon, USC; Frankie Rios, USC; Timmy Robinson, USC; Dylan Drachler, UTAH; Kellen Marruffo, UTAH; Josh Rose, UTAH; Noah Bremer, WASH; Levi Jordan, WASH; John Naff, WASH; Ian Hamilton, WSU; Ryan Walker, WSU.


Name Pos. Yr. School
Jordan Aboites SP Sr. Arizona State
Matt Winaker 1B So. Stanford
Nick Madrigal 2B Fr. Oregon State
Tommy Edman SS Jr. Stanford
Chris Baker 3B Jr. Washington
Logan Ice C Jr. Oregon State
Austin Grebeck OF Jr. Oregon
DaShawn Keirsey, Jr. OF Fr. Utah
Jack Meggs OF Jr. Washington