This Year in Men's Tennis

Pac-12 Content Image
UCLA Athletics

Pac-12 tennis student-athletes swept the singles and doubles titles at the 2016 NCAA Tennis Championships. Mackenzie McDonald of UCLA won the men’s singles crown and then paired with Martin Redlicki to take home the men’s doubles championship. McDonald’s singles title was the second in the last three years for UCLA after Marcos Giron won it in 2014 and is the Pac-12’s 45th all-time. The duo claimed the Conferences’ first men’s doubles championship since USC in 2008 and the first for UCLA since 1996. The Pac-12 has now claimed 57 all-time NCAA doubles titles.

Six teams advanced to the postseason, with UCLA seeded third, USC seeded 10th, CALIFORNIA seeded 13th in the NCAA Tournament bracket, while OREGON, STANFORD and WASHINGTON also earned at-large berths in the tournament. Four teams advanced to the round of 16 while UCLA made it to the national quarterfinal and California went to the national semifinal. Individually, seven singles players qualified for the tournament, three of which made it to the second round. Three doubles teams earned berths and along with UCLA winning the title, Filip Bergevi and Florian Lakat of California made it to the national quarterfinal. 

The 2016 Pac-12 Championships showcased some of the top collegiate tennis talent in Ojai, Calif., for the 71st year for the men. UCLA, the regular-season champions, also won the tournament title by defeating No. 3 seed California, 4-1. It marked UCLA’s third tournament championship since the team format was established in 2012.

The men’s coaches voted UCLA junior Mackenzie McDonald as the Men’s Singles Player of the Year for the second-straight year. McDonald and Redlicki were selected as the Men’s Doubles Team of the Year and Logan Smith of USC was the Men’s Freshman/Newcomer of the Year. California head coach Peter Wright was the Men’s Coach of the Year.

Men’s players earning All-America honors were: McDonald, UCLA (Singles and Doubles); Martin Redlicki, UCLA (Doubles); Tom Fawcett, STAN (Singles); Filip Bergevi, CAL (Doubles); Florian Lakat, CAL (Doubles). McDonald was also named the 2016 ITA National Men’s College Player of the Year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network