This year in Pac-12 Women's Golf

Pac-12 Content Image
Pac-12 Network Newsroom

USC collected its fifth Pac-12 Conference title, posting a 54-hole total of 846 (-18), to claim the league crown. With a six-stroke lead entering the final round, USC was able to hold off its league rival, UCLA, by three strokes to capture the Pac-12 Championship title. The race for the individual title proved to be close as the top two individuals both shot 66 in their final round. ARIZONA STATE freshman Linnea Strom  (-11) posted a birdie on the 18th hole to clinch the individual title by one stroke over UCLA’s Bronte Law (-10). Strom also claimed the Pac-12 individual record for lowest total score of 205, edging OREGON’s Caroline Inglis, who set last year’s record (206).

The Pac-12 continued its dynamic play into the NCAA Regionals with nine teams earning bids; ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, COLORADO, OREGON, STANFORD, UCLA, USC, and WASHINGTON.  Six teams advanced to the NCAA Championship where five then qualified for Match Play; Oregon, Stanford, UCLA, USC, and Washington. In a match that was extended to extra holes against the defending champion Cardinal, the Huskies became the sixth Pac-12 team to tally a women’s national golf title. 

Law was named Pac-12 Golfer of the Year for the second consecutive time. The top-ranked golfer recorded a nation’s best 70.61 stroke average and posted 20 rounds under par, with 11 rounds of 69 or better. UCLA’s Lilia Vu secured Freshman of the Year honors after posting five top-10 finishes, 13 rounds under par, and seven rounds in the 60s. Vu also secured All-Pac-12 First Team honors. WASHINGTON’s head coach Mary Lou Mulflur was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year after guiding the Huskies to their first national championship. Mulflur led a team of five freshmen and two seniors to the title where they had to take down top-ranked UCLA in the semifinals and Stanford in the championship match, to earn the 2016 NCAA Championship. The Huskies are the sixth Pac-12 women’s golf program to collect a national crown. 

National honors were bestowed upon Law and Mulflur as Law pulled in three player of the year awards (ANNIKA, PING WGCA and Golfweek), while Mulflur was named national coach of the year by the WGCA and Golfweek

Law, Vu, Strom and Stanford’s Lauren Kim were honored by the WGCA as First Team All-America selections, while second team honors went to Arizona State’s Monica Vaughan, Colorado’s Esther Lee, Stanford’s Mariah Stackhouse, USC’s Tiffany Chan and Robynn Ree, and Washignton’s Charlotte Thomas.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network