2016 Pac-12 Cross Country Championships

Event: Oct. 28 | Tucson, AZ
TV: Oct. 31 at 6p / 7mt
Randolph North Golf Course

CU, Cheserek complete sweeps at 2016 Pac-12 Cross Country Championships

Chris Hook

Men's Official Results | Women's Official Results

TUCSON, Ariz. – OREGON senior Edward Cheserek made history as the first four-time men’s individual champion in Conference history and COLORADO swept the men’s and women’s team titles for the second consecutive year to highlight the 2016 Pac-12 Cross Country Championships hosted by ARIZONA at Randolph North Golf Course on Friday morning.

Along with the team and men’s individual titles, WASHINGTON’s Amy-Eloise Neale captured the women’s 6,000-meter individual crown in 20:22.9, out kicking COLORADO’s Erin Clark and Dani Jones to the finish by just 0.4 and 1.5 seconds, respectively.

Cheserek passed distance legends and three-time league men’s champs Steve Prefontaine (OREGON, 1970-71 & 1973) and Henry Rono (WASHINGTON STATE, 1976 & 1978-79) with his four-peat, joining ARIZONA alumna Amy Skieresz (1995-98) as the Conference’s only four-time individual cross country champions. He will now set his sights on next month’s NCAA Championships in Terre Haute, Ind., where he can also become the only four-time national champion in the sport.

Cheserek broke free midway through the 8,000-meter race and coasted to a 14-second victory in 23:58.9, besting runner-up Grant Fisher (24:13.5) from STANFORD.

The No. 7 COLORADO men won the team title for the sixth consecutive year – every year since joining the Pac-12 in 2011 – to match the Conference record set by STANFORD from 2000-05.

Led by top-10 showings from Ben Saarel (third), Zach Perrin (fourth), John Dressel (sixth) and Ryan Forsyth (ninth), the Buffaloes totaled 41 points to narrowly defeat the No. 2 nationally ranked Cardinal (47). No. 10 UCLA (58) placed third, No. 3 OREGON (94) came in fourth, and No. 15 WASHINGTON STATE (130) closed the top 5.

Paced by Clark, Jones and top-10 finishes by Kaitlyn Benner (fourth) and Makena Morley (ninth), the No. 1 nationally ranked COLORADO women amassed 33 points to coast to their second straight Pac-12 women’s team crown. The Buffaloes, who were cheered on by alumna and 2016 Rio Olympics 1,500-meter bronze medalist Jenny Simpson, are the first repeat Conference champion since WASHINGTON accomplished the feat in 2008 and 2009.

No. 2 WASHINGTON, powered by Neale’s individual title, was the runner-up with 74 points, followed by No. 11 STANFORD (83) in third, No. 5 OREGON (88) in fourth and No. 17 UTAH (169) in fifth.

It marked the third time COLORADO swept the men’s and women’s team titles (2011, 2015-16) since joining the league in 2011.

Tape-delayed coverage of the championships will air on the Pac-12 Networks on Monday, Oct. 31 at 6 p.m. PT, with Jim Watson, Dwight Stones and Lewis Johnson calling the action.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder