Six Pac-12 women's soccer teams to compete in NCAA tournament

Pac-12 Content Image

SAN FRANCISCO - For the second year in a row, six Pac-12 women’s soccer teams earned berths to the 2016 NCAA Women's Soccer Championship, the Division I Women’s Soccer Committee announced today. STANFORD earned a No. 1 overall seed for the third-straight year and are joined in the field by No. 2-seeded USC, No. 4-seeded UCLA, COLORADO, CALIFORNIA and UTAH. 

The Pac-12 currently holds an all-time record of 174-118-25 (.588) in the NCAA Women’s College Cup, with three national championships and five second-place finishes. The Pac-12 is tied for the third-most conference representatives in the field with six.

Stanford, the 2016 Pac-12 Champions for the sixth time in the last eight years, earned a No. 1 seed for the third-straight year. At 17-1-1 (10-1-0 Pac-12) on the year, Stanford earned its 25th all-time postseason appearance and 19th-consecutive bid. Stanford is one of three Pac-12 teams to win a NCAA Championship, previously taking home the title in 2011. The Cardinal hosts Houston Baptist at 7 p.m. PT on Fri., Nov. 11.

USC earned its third-straight NCAA Tournament berth and claimed a No. 2 seed, which ties the program high. On Sat., Nov. 12 at 1 p.m. PT, USC takes on Eastern Washington. The Trojans, who are 14-4-1 this season, tied for second in the Pac-12 standings with a Conference record of 8-2-1. USC is 15-12-1 in the postseason all-time and owns one of the league’s three NCAA Championship titles after taking home the hardware in 2007.

UCLA earned a No. 4 seed to complete the Conference's top-16 seeded teams. UCLA went 13-5-1 on the regular season and 7-3-1 in Conference play to finish fifth in the Pac-12. The Bruins are coming off of a year long hiatus from the NCAA Tournament. This marks their 20th NCAA Tournament appearance with three second place finishes, five ties for second, and one national championship in 2013. UCLA hosts Seattle University on Fri., Nov. 11 at 7 p.m. PT.

Colorado earned a berth to it ninth NCAA Tournament appearance all-time and third in the last four years. After finishing 12th in the Pac-12 last year, CU have made a dramatic turnaround. The Buffs went 14-5-1 in the regular season and 8-2-1 in the Pac-12 to tie for second with USC. Colorado hosts Oklahoma State on Sat., Nov. 12 at 12 p.m. PT.

California heads to Malibu, Calif. to play Pepperdine at 1 p.m. PT on Sat., Nov. 12. It is the Bears 24th-overall appearance in the championship. Cal finished in sixth place in the Pac-12 this year with a 13-5-2 record(6-3-2 Pac-12). Cal is 15-22-3 all-time in the postseason with two third-place finishes and one fourth-place finish.

Utah makes its seventh all-time NCAA Tournament appearance. The Utes finished the regular season 11-3-5 (6-1-4 Pac-12) to finish fourth in the Conference. From 2002-2006 the Utes made five-consecutive NCAA appearances under Coach Rich Manning, the best streak in program history. Utah looks to start another streak as it makes its first appearance since 2013. The team plays Texas Tech at home on Sat., Nov. 12 at 1 p.m. MT/12 p.m. PT.

Thirty-one conferences were granted automatic bids for the 2016 championship, while the remaining 33 teams were selected at-large. The top 16 teams are seeded and conference teams cannot play each other in the first- or second-rounds. When pairing teams, the committee follows geographic proximity parameters. The top 16 teams will host and all other sites were selected for the first-round to create the least number of flights.

First-round games will be played November 11, 12 and 13 at campus sites. Second-round games will be played Friday, November 18 at campus sites, and third-round games will be played Sunday, November 20 at the same campus sites. Quarterfinal games will be played November 25 or 26 also on campus sites.

The 35th annual NCAA Women’s College Cup will be played December 2 and 4 at Avaya Stadium in San Jose, California, with the West Coast Conference and the San Jose Sports Authority serving as co-hosts. The first national semifinal will be played and shown live on ESPNU at 5 p.m. Eastern Time Friday, December 2. The second semifinal will begin at approximately 7:30 p.m. Eastern Time live on ESPNU. The national championship match will take place at 6 p.m Eastern Time on Sunday, December 4 and will also broadcast live on ESPNU.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network