This Week in Pac-12 Men's Soccer

• STANFORD remains in the NCAA Men’s Soccer Championship. The Cardinal advance to the NCAA quarterfinals and play at No. 4 seed Louisville on Dec. 3 at 4 p.m. PT.

• Pac-12 Co-Player of the Year Foster Langsdorf netted the game-winning goal against No. 16 Virginia in double overtime to send Stanford to its second-consecutive NCAA quarterfinal. Langsdorf’s goal was his 14th of the season, tied for ninth in Stanford history and the most for a Cardinal player since Roger Levesque in 2001. Stanford has posted shutouts in four-straight postseason matches and has not allowed a postseason goal in the last 422:17.

• WASHINGTON reached the third round of the NCAA Tournament for the fourth time in program history. The Huskies fell to Denver, 1-2, and finish the 2016 season with at 14-7 record after making their first appearance in the tournament since 2014. 

• The Pac-12 currently holds an all-time record of 126-99-11 (.559) in the NCAA Tournament, with five national championships and eight second-place finishes. Last season, Stanford won its first national championship with a 4-0 victory over Clemson in Kansas City. View the 2016 NCAA men’s soccer bracket here.

• The 2016 regular season concluded with Stanford capturing its third-consecutive Conference title going 8-1-1 in league play. Washington finished second in the league with a 6-4-0 record. San Diego State followed in third with a 4-3-3 record. UCLA, California and Oregon State rounded out the final standings.

• The Pac-12 concluded the regular season with three teams ranked in the final NSCAA top-25 poll. Stanford finished at No. 5, Washington at No. 14 and San Diego State at No. 19. At least two Pac-12 teams were ranked every week during the season, highlighted by a No. 1 preseason ranking by Stanford.

• The All-Pac-12 honors for the 2016 season were announced last week, as determined by a polling of the Conference coaches. UCLA’s Jose Hernandez and Stanford’s Foster Langsdorf were voted Co-Pac-12 Players of the Year. Langsdorf’s teammate Tomas Hilliard-Arce was tabbed Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, Washington’s Handwalla Bwana was voted Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and Cardinal head coach Jeremy Gunn was voted Pac-12 Coach of the Year. The All-Pac-12 teams were also announced and can be viewed here.

• Stanford goalkeeper Andrew Epstein and UCLA defender Michael Amick were named to the 2016 Academic All-America Division I first team as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA). Epstein is an electrical engineering major with a 3.76 GPA and was on the Academic All-America third team last season. He joins Taylor Graham (2002) as the Cardinal's only first team Academic All-Americans in men's soccer and is the 205th honor for a Stanford student-athlete. Amick, a biochemistry major, is now a two-time Academic All-American as he earned third team honors last season. He is the first Bruin since Joe Sofia in 2013 to earn CoSIDA Academic All-America first team honors and the second UCLA player to earn Academic All-America honors in back-to-back seasons (Joe Sofia, 2012-13).

• Stanford senior defender Brian Nana-Sinkam was named one of 10 men's soccer student-athletes selected as finalists for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate soccer. Nana-Sinkam helps to organize events between the AYSO VIP (Very Important Players) Green Giants team and the Stanford men's soccer team. He's also on the Stanford Athletics Cardinal Council, which brought together 23 Stanford teams for an annual Date Auction, raising over $4,500 for Camp Kesem, which offers recreational camps in the United States for children of parents with cancer. Additionally he is a creative consultant for The Releaf Group, a non-profit organization that connects Nigerian entrepreneurs in the agricultural industry to the United States. Excelling both on and off the field, nominees must be an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner through November 21. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches' votes to determine the winner that will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Men's and Women's College Cup championships in December.

• Seven Pac-12 athletes were selected to the CoSIDA Academic All-District Men’s Soccer Team. The Academic All-District Men’s Soccer Teams recognize the nation’s top student-athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. The list includes Andrew Epstein of Stanford, Quentin Pearson of Washington, Michael Amick of UCLA, Aravind Sivakumar and Christian Thierjung of California, and Nathan Braaten and Timmy Mueller of Oregon State.

• The National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) honored Oregon State and Stanford with the College Team Academic Award for the 2015-16 academic year. 315 men’s teams posted a team grade point average of 3.0 or higher to earn the recognition. The Beavers recorded a 3.14 GPA and the Cardinal posted a 3.39 GPA, tied for 35th among NCAA men’s soccer programs across all divisions.

UPCOMING SCHEDULE (all times local to site)

Saturday, Dec. 3    
No. 5 STANFORD at No. 7 Louisville  Live Stream 4 p.m.
Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder