Skip to main content

2017 Pac-12 Swimming (W) & Diving (M/W) Championships: Stanford rewrites record books en route to 20th Conference title

Feb 26, 2017

FEDERAL WAY, Wash. – Stanford captured its 20th overall women’s swimming and diving Conference title in record fashion at the 2017 Pac-12 Women’s swimming and men’s and women’s diving championships, placing first in 15 out of the 21 events totaling 1,587.5 points. Five American records and six Pac-12 championship records were broken over four days of competition as the Pac-12 currently holds 14 of the 16 top times in the country entering the 2017 NCAA Championships to be held March 16-18 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

The Cardinal squad lead by Team USA Olympic Coach Greg Meehan topped the podium in all four relays as well as the 50, 100, 200, 500 and 1650 freestyle, the 200 and 400 IM, the 100 backstroke, the 200 fly, and three-meter diving.

Freshman Katie Ledecky made history as the fastest performer ever in both the 500 free and 400 IM on day three, Ally Howe took down a 15-year-old American record set by California’s Natalie Coughlin in the 100 backstroke and both the 400 and 800 freestyle relay teams broke American records to highlight the Cardinal’s Conference victory. Olympic gold medalist Simone Manuel touched first in all six of her events, including new Pac-12 Championship records in the 50, 100 and 200 freestyle.  

California totaled 1,392 points to place second. Kathleen Baker took the Conference title in the 200 backstroke tonight with a new Pac-12 Championship record at 1:48.33. The 2016 Olympic silver medalist also finished second in the 200 IM and 100 backstroke. Egyptian Olympian Farida Osman finished second in the 50 free and 100 fly and anchored both the 200 and 400 freestyle relays.

2016 Pac-12 Champion USC finished third with 1,250.5 points lead by freshman Louise Hansson’s victory in the 100 fly on day three and sophomore Riley Scott’s win in the 200 breaststroke tonight with a 2:06.20. Scott and Hansson also earned podium spots in the 100 breaststroke and 50 freestyle respectively. Sophomore Maddie Wright took second in the 100 fly and senior Anika Apostalon was honored as the Pac-12 Scholar Athlete of the Year to highlight the meet for the Trojans.

Pac-12 divers also put on a show of their own with three different individuals taking home titles. UCLA’s Maria Polyakova was named Pac-12 diver of the meet for her first place finish in the 3-meter, her second place finish in the 1-meter and her third place finish tonight on the platform. 2016 Olympian Kassidy Cook of Stanford took the 1-meter crown and Arizona State’s Mara Aiacoboae claimed the platform title.

Men’s diving featured Stanford’s Tarek Abdelghany taking home men’s diver of the meet honors with his first place finish in the platform competition tonight, a third place finish in the 1-meter, and a fifth place finish in the 3-meter. Stanford’s Bradley Christensen took the Conference title in the 1-meter and USC’s Dashiell Enos defended his Pac-12 title in the 3-meter. The men’s swimming competition then begins Wednesday March 1.

Final Scores:
1. Stanford – 1,587.5  
2. California – 1,392
3. USC – 1,250.5 
4. Arizona – 1,075.5
5. UCLA - 1,002  
6. Arizona State - 709.5
7. Utah - 484  
8. Washington State - 334
9. Oregon State - 237