2017 Pac-12 Wrestling Championships

Event: Feb. 26 | Stanford, CA

Arizona State captures 2017 Pac-12 Wrestling Championship

STANFORD, Calif. – ARIZONA STATE captured its 17th Pac-12 title, and first since 2006, at the 2017 Pac-12 Wrestling Championships on Sunday. The 12th-ranked Sun Devils posted 127.0 points behind five individual Pac-12 champions - Josh Maruca (149), Josh Shields (157), Anthony Valencia (165), Zahid Valencia (174) and Tanner Hall (HWT). Zahid Valencia was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler of the Championships after posting a pair of falls in three matches, including one in the semifinals that took just 16 seconds. Attendance at Stanford’s Maples Pavilion for the first round of the championships was 1,196, while 1,474 fans were in attendance for the evening’s championship round.

Host, and 17th-ranked STANFORD, finished runner-up with 122.5 points. CSU BAKERSFIELD finished in third with 92.0 points, followed by OREGON STATE in fourth with 91.5 points, BOISE STATE in fifth with 79.0 points and CAL POLY in sixth with 78.0 points.

125 pounds: Sean Nickell (CSU Bakersfield) def. Josh Kramer (Arizona State). D; 7-5

  • Tied 3-3 after the first round, Nickell took the lead 6-3 after the second round and held on for the decision.
  • First Pac-12 champion in the weight class by a CSUB wrestler since 2013 (Tyler Iwamura).
  • Will Bardezbain (Boise State) took third place, while Brandon Staley (Cal Poly) garnered fifth place.

133 pounds: Joey Palmer (Oregon State) def. No. 15 Connor Schram (Stanford). D; 5-4; TB1

  • Palmer knocked over No. 15 Schram in overtime, wining 5-4.
  • Palmer becomes just the second Beaver to win the Pac-12 Championship at 133 pounds, joining teammate Jack Hathaway who brought home the title in 2015.
  • Carlos Herrera (CSU Bakersfield) took third place, while Ted Rico (Arizona State) took fifth place.

141 pounds: No. 3 Joey McKenna (Stanford) def. Jack Hathaway (Oregon State). M; 12-1

  • No. 3 ranked McKenna opened the first round with a 6-0 lead and never locked back for his defending championship victory at 141 pounds and improved his record to 28-1 this season.
  • McKenna is the only Cardinal to earn victory at 141 pounds in 19 championships at that weight class
  • Colt Schilling (Cal Poly) earned an NCAA automatic qualifying spot with a third-place finish.

149 pounds: Josh Maruca (Arizona State) def. Coleman Hammond (CSU Bakersfield). D; 8-2

  • Maruca picked up the Sun Devils first individual title of the night.
  • Maruca becomes the fourth different wrestler all-time to win the Pac-12 title at 149 pounds
  • Joey Delgado (Oregon State) picked up third place, and with it an automatic qualifying spot at the NCAA Championships. Walker Dempsey (Stanford) earned fifth place.

157 pounds: No. 14 Josh Shields (Arizona State) def. Colt Shorts (Cal Poly). D; 10-5

  • Shields, currently ranked No. 14 by InterMat, moved his record to 32-7 with the victory
  • Shields is the first Sun Devil to win at 157 pounds since Brian Stith in 2007.
  • Paul Fox (Stanford) picked up a third-place finish, while Jacob Thalin (CSU Bakersfield) earned fifth place.

165 pounds: No. 6 Anthony Valencia (Arizona State) def. Lorenzo De La Riva (CSU Bakersfield). M; 16-7

  • No. 6-ranked Anthony Valencia improved his record to 32-5 for the year, becoming the first Sun Devil since Patrick Pitsch in 2008 to earn the Pac-12 title at 165 pounds.
  • Keaton Subjeck (Stanford) held on for third place and earned an automatic qualifying spot at the NCAA Championships, while Rodney Williams (Oregon State) picked up fifth place.

174 pounds: No. 1 Zahid Valencia (Arizona State) def. Austin Dewey (Boise State). F; 2:30

  • With the only fall in the championship round, No. 1-ranked Zahid Valencia remained perfect at 33-0
  • Valencia becomes the first Sun Devil to stand atop the podium at 174 pounds since Curtis Owen in 2003.
  • Peter Galli (Stanford), the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for wrestling, earned third-place honors, while Bob Coleman (Oregon State) captured fifth place.

184 pounds: Zach Nevills (Stanford) def. Jacen Petersen (Arizona State). D; 7-6

  • Nevills had won three matches all season before making a run of three straight wins in the Pac-12 Championships to earn the Conference title at 184 pounds.
  • Nevills is Stanford’s first champion all-time at 184 pounds.
  • Bryan Battisto (CSU Bakersfield) took home third place honors, Kayden Del Toro (Boise State) picked up fifth place.

197 pounds: Corey Griego (Oregon State) def. No. 17 Josh Marchok (Stanford). D; 5-3

  • Griego gives the Beavers their second title in three years, and fourth in six years, at 197 pounds.
  • Matt Williams (CSU Bakersfield) earned third-place honors and an NCAA automatic qualification, while Tom Lane (Cal Poly) finished fifth.

Heavyweight: No. 7 Tanner Hall (Arizona State) def. Cody Crawford (Oregon State). D; 3-1; SV1

  • Hall capped the night with the Arizona State’s fifth individual title.
  • Hall is Arizona State’s first heavyweight champion since Cain Velasquez posted back-to-back titles in 2005 and 2006
  • Nathan Butler (Stanford) finished in third place and earned an automatic qualifying spot at the NCAA Championships. Gabriel Gonzalez (Boise State) finished fifth.
Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network