2017 Pac-12 Men's Swimming Championship

Event: March 1-4 | Federal Way, WA

Pac-12 men's swimming set for Conference Championships



2017 Pac-12 Conference Men’s Swimming Championships

Wednesday, March 1 - Saturday, March 4

Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center
650 Southwest Campus Drive, Federal Way, WA 98003

Arizona, Arizona State, California, Stanford, USC and Utah.

The Pac-12 Men’s Swimming finals will be broadcast live on Saturday, March 4 at 6:30 p.m. PT / 7:30 p.m. MT on Pac-12 Arizona, Pac-12 Los Angeles and select other Pac-12 regional networks to be announced at a later date.

Coverage of the prelims and earlier finals will be streamed live on Pac-12.com and the Pac-12 Now app, Wednesday, March 1, Thursday, March 2, Friday, March 3 and will conclude on Saturday, March 4.

Tickets are available here. Gates open at 10 a.m. each day for morning sessions and 5 p.m. each day for evening sessions.

Advanced Ticket Prices (available at pac-12.com/tickets)

All Session Pass (March 1-4):
Adult: $35.00
Student with ID/Child/Senior (65 and over): $20.00

One Day Pass:
Adult: $10.00
Student with ID/Child/Senior (65 and over): $5.00

Onsite Ticket Prices

All Session Pass (March 4-7):
Adult: $40.00
Student with ID/Child/Senior (65 and over): $20.00

One Day Pass:
Adult: $15.00
Student with ID/Child/Senior (65 and over): $10.00
Children 5 and under are admitted free (with an adult).

The Conference contact for men’s swimming and diving is Molly Babcock (mbabcock@pac-12.org). 

Results and recaps will be posted on the Pac-12 website (pac-12.com/mensswimchamps). Please contact Molly Babcock at the Pac-12 office for more information.


With five Pac-12 teams ranked in the top 25 in the Feb. 23 College Swimming Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) poll, the 2017 Pac-12 Men’s Swimming Championships are shaping up to be as competitive as ever. With several Olympians in the field, the meet continues to showcase some of the top swimmers in the world. At the men’s diving competition last weekend, Dashiell Enos (USC) won the 3-meter event with a score of 428.35 for the second-straight year. Bradley Christensen (Stanford) won the 1-meter event also for the second-straight year, scoring 375.90. Tarek Abdelghany (Stanford) was the platform champion.

Tied for No. 15 in the country, ARIZONA (2-4-1, 1-3-1 Pac-12) enters the season after tying Arizona State in its last regular-season meet. Junior Nick Thorne had a strong performance being the only male to win more than one event. Thorne earned his first victory in the 200-yard backstroke with a season and personal-best time of 1:43.70. He later won the 400-yard IM with ease, touching in 3:49.18 and giving the Wildcats the lead going into the last event. These were Thorne’s first victories of the season and best finishes in both of the events. Overall, the men won seven events and had multiple swimmers in the top three in 10. Juniors Chris Wieser and Justin Wright both won their events, the 1,00-yard free and 200-yard fly, respectively, in a season-best for Wieser and a third-consecutive win for Wright.

Ranked in a tie for No. 15, ARIZONA STATE (4-2-1, 2-2-1 Pac-12) had five season highs and two NCAA B-cuts in its final meet of the regular season against Arizona. Richard Bohus and Patrick Pars both swam their NCAA B-cuts in the 100-yard free. At the meet, Bohus won the second-straight event for the ASU men with his second-fastest 100-yard backstroke of the season, while Zach Poti swam his career fastest, finishing fourth, and Reid Elliott swam his season fastest, finishing fifth. Two events later, Patrick Park also swam a season best in the 200-yard fly, finishing second.

First-ranked CALIFORNIA (5-0, 4-0 Pac-12) spent the season jumping around being ranked in the top-10 in the nation with the lowest ranking coming on Nov. 23 at sixth (CSCAA). For the last three rankings of the season, the Bears went from first to second to end up on top for the final ranking of the season. Ryan Murphy’s final dual meet in Berkeley was a lot like the ones that have come before – score a few points, break a couple of records and lead Cal to a victory over rival Stanford. The Bears set two pool records at the meet – the 200-yard medley relay (Connor Hoppe, Matthew Josa, Pawel Sendyk, and Murphy) in 1:44.85 and Murphy individually set the 200-yard backstroke in 1:42.37. Sophomore and reigning Pac-12 Swimmer of the Month Andrew Seliskar won three events for the Bears, taking the 200-yard freestyle (1:35.46), 200-yard butterfly (1:44.85), and the 200 breaststroke (1:57.01).

Fifth-ranked STANFORD (3-1 Pac-12) is 4-1 in dual meets on the 2016-17 season. The one loss came against No. 1 California. The Cardinal team of Ryan Dudzinski, Matt Anderson, Andrew Liang and Cole Cogswell (1:27.16) started the meet with a runner-up finish in the 200-yard medley relay. Stanford scored a one-two-three finish in the 1,000-yard freestyle, led by True Sweetser (9:00.25). Liam Egan (9:09.37) and Grant Shoults (9:14.97) rounded out the top three.

Coming in at No. 13 in the CSCAA polling, USC (6-2, 3-2 Pac-12) won 13 of 16 events in its last meet of the regular season, including seniors Michael Domagala, Reed Malone and Steven Stumph all won their respective events. Sophomore Patrick Mulcare, school record holder in the 200y back, won the race today in 1:41.67, 0.12 off the pool record of 1:41.55 set by Cal’s Jacob Pebley last year and 0.02 off his season best. Trojan junior Jon Knox was second in a season best 1:43.38. Stumph, the two-time defending Pac-12 champion in the 200-yard breaststroke, won the race in a season-best 1:56.34 while Ridge Altman took third in 1:58.34.

UTAH (5-2, 3-2 Pac-12) set a new school record and had nine competitors accomplish times good enough for NCAA consideration despite coming up short against then-No. 13 USC in its last meet of the regular season. In the 100-yard breaststroke, Jack Burton took first with a time of 53.64, matching the school record set by Ken Tiltges at the 2014 Pac-12 Championships. Burton would later take second in the 200-yard breaststroke (1:57.86) and be one of seven student-athletes to reach a NCAA cut time. Daniel McArthur also took home individual wins in the 200-yard IM (1:48.32) and the 100-yard back (47.25), both times were good enough for NCAA consideration.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder