2017 Pac-12 Men's Swimming Championship

Event: March 1-4 | Federal Way, WA

Pac-12 Championship records pervade in day 3 of Pac-12 Men’s Swimming Championships

Pac-12 Content Image

Federal Way, Wash. - California won four of the six titles on the third day of competition at the Pac-12 Men's Swimming Championships, held at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash. Despite not winning a title on the night, Stanford remains in the lead.


400-yard Individual Medley
• California sophomore Andrew Seliskar claimed his second-straight Conference title in the event. Seliskar’s time of 3:39.53 was good enough for an NCAA ‘A’ Standard.
• Seliskar is the first student-athlete to successfully double-win in the 200-yard and 400-yard individual medley since Tom Wilkens of Stanford in 1996 and he has done it two years in a row.
• Sophomore Abrahm Devine of Stanford and junior Nick Thorne of Arizona took second in 3:41.76 and third in 3:44.42, respectively.

100-yard Butterfly
• California junior Josa Matthew's time of 45.41 was good for a first-place finish in a very tight race.
• It is the third-straight year California has won the event and the fifth time in the last six years.
• Matthew’s junior teammate Justin Lynch came in a close second in 45.47, Stanford’s junior Andrew Liang came in third in 45.52, and Arizona State’s Tadas Duskiness came in fourth in a time of 45.71. All four athletes swam the NCAA ‘A’ Standard.

200-yard Freestyle
• Arizona State freshman Cameron Craig won the 200-yard freestyle in a Pac-12 Championship record time of 1:31.71.
• Craig broke a seven-year USC winning streak in the event.
• USC junior Dylan Carter took second in a time of 1:31.98 to round out NCAA ‘A’ Standard qualifying times. Grant Shoults of Stanford came in third in a time of 1:33.74.

100-yard Breaststroke
• USC sophomore Carsten Vissering won the 100-yard breaststroke in an NCAA ‘A’ Standard time of 51.45.
• Vissering is the first Trojan to win the event since 2003.
• Arizona sophomore Blair Bish took second in a time of 52.32 and California junior Connor Hopper was third in a time of 52.38.

100-yard Backstroke
• California senior Ryan Murphy won the event in a Pac-12 Championship record of 44.76.
• Both first and second place were awarded to Olympians. Arizona State’s senior Richard Bohus was second in a time of 45.23. Murphy and Bohus both swam NCAA ‘A’ Standard times.
• In third was USC’s junior Ralf Tribuntsov in a time of 45.60.

400-yard Medley Relay
• California's quartet of Murphy, Seliskar, Matthew and Jensen earned a first-place finish in the event with a time of 3:03.45.
• The Golden Bears won the event for the second-straight year.
• Arizona State finished in second place overall in 3:03.63 while Stanford clocked a time of 3:04.50 and finished in third place. USC was fourth in a time of 3:04.51 and Arizona was fifth in a time of 3:07.18. All five times are good enough for NCAA ‘A’ Standard times.

Team Scores Through Event 14 (INCLUDES DIVING)
1. Stanford - 588
2. California - 523
3. USC - 494
4. Arizona State - 373
5. Arizona - 246
6. Utah - 167

Competition resumes on Saturday at 11 a.m. PT with the preliminary rounds of the 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly and 1650 freestyle. The finals session for those events plus the 400 freestyle relay (timed final) will begin at 6 p.m. PT.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network