Seven Pac-12 gymnastics teams advance to NCAA Regionals

SAN FRANCISCO – The 2017 National Collegiate Women’s Gymnastics Championships regional selections were announced Monday by the NCAA and seven of the eight Pac-12 gymnastics teams were selected to advance to the regionals. All regionals will take place on Saturday, April 1.

Pac-12 gymnastics teams are spread out across four different sites. Of the seven Pac-12 teams advancing to regionals, five of them are among the top three seeds in their region. The regional sites for this year’s championship include Fayetteville, Ark., Gainesville, Fla., Urbana-Champaign, Ill., Lincoln, Neb., Seattle, and Morgantown, W.Va. 

Pac-12 Champion UTAH will highlight the Fayetteville Regional as the nation’s No. 4 overall seed. They’ll be joined in Arkansas by Pac-12 peer No. 16 CALIFORNIA, the region’s 3-seed. The two Pac-12 squads will compete against Denver, Auburn, Central Michigan, and host Arkansas.

UCLA has claimed the No. 5 seed overall and will highlight the Champaign Regional, alongside No. 8 OREGON STATE. No. 17 Iowa, host Illinois, Eastern Michigan, and Ohio State will also be competing in Champaign. 

No. 13 WASHINGTON is set to host the Seattle Regional and is the only Pac-12 team to serve as a host this year. STANFORD will join the Huskies in Seattle, as will overall No. 1 seed Oklahoma, No. 12 Kentucky, Utah State, and BYU.

ARIZONA will be the lone Pac-12 team competing in the Lincoln Regional, hosted by Nebraska. The Wildcats will be up against No. 2 LSU, No. 11 Boise State, No. 14 Nebraska, Iowa State, and Minnesota. 

In addition to the seven Pac-12 teams that qualified as a team for the NCAA Regionals, ARIZONA STATE’s Nichelle Christopherson qualified to compete on beam in the Fayetteville Regional.  She also qualified as an alternate on the uneven bars.

The top two teams and top two all-around competitors (who are not on an advancing team) from each regional will receive an automatic berth to the national championships in St. Louis on April 14, with the chance to advance to the Super Six on April 15. In addition, the event winners at each regional site will advance to the national championships (in that event only) if they are not part of a qualifying team or an all-around qualifier.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder