Skip to main content

Four Pac-12 Men's Swimming and Diving teams in the top 14 at the NCAA Championships

Mar 26, 2017

INDIANAPOLIS - Pac-12 men’s swimming and diving teams wrapped up competition at the 2017 NCAA Championships, held at the IUPUI Natatorium hosted by IUPUI. CALIFORNIA (349) earned a runner-up finish for the second-straight year while STANFORD (242) took fifth place, USC (237) finished in sixth and ARIZONA STATE (100) ended up in 14th place overall. ARIZONA finished with 36.5 points for 24th place.

Collectively, Conference swimmers and divers totaled two NCAA individual titles, both of which came from California’s Ryan Murphy. Ryan won both the 100-yard and 200-yard backstroke. He set the NCAA, Championship, American, and U.S. open records in the event the previous year with a time of 43.49. His time in the event this year was just shy of that, 43.99. He also set NCAA, Championship, American, and U.S. Open record in the 200-yard backstroke the previous year with a time of 1:35.73. His time of 1:36.75 was just shy of that, but still good enough for the national title.

Final Team Scores
1. Texas - 542
2. California - 349
3. Florida - 294.5
4. NC State - 272.5
5. Stanford - 242
6. USC - 237
14. ASU - 100
24. Arizona - 36.5

NCAA Individual Champions
100-yard Backstroke - Ryan Murphy, Cal 43.99
200-yard Backstroke - Ryan Murphy, Cal 1:37.75