Skip to main content

Stanford's McNealy Named 2016-17 Pac-12 Men's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Apr 26, 2017

SAN FRANCISCO – STANFORD senior Maverick McNealy was selected the 2016-17 Pac-12 Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced on Wednesday ahead of the start of the 2017 Pac-12 Men’s Golf Championship at the Boulder Country Club in Boulder, Colo.

McNealy currently maintains a 3.54 grade-point average as a Management, Science and Engineering major at Stanford. A two-time Pac-12 Golfer of the Year, McNealy was recently named recipient of the Byron Nelson Award. Candidates for the Nelson Award must be a graduating senior and the selection committee considers equally a nominee's entire collegiate academic and golf career as well as his character and integrity while in college. Particular consideration is given to a nominee's good citizenship, as portrayed by Mr. Byron Nelson over the course of his life and golf career.

This season, McNealy has led No. 8 Stanford with a 69.87 scoring average, which ranks sixth nationally. His victory at the Nike Collegiate Invitational was his 11th of his career and tied the school-record for all-time wins held by Tiger Woods and Patrick Rodgers. McNealy is currently the top-ranked amateur in the world according to the World Amateur Golf Ranking.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

ALSO NOMINATED: Jared du Toit (ASU), Walker Huddy (CAL), Sam Foust (ORE), Cooner Kumpula (OSU), Gentry Hicks (UTAH), Corey Pereira (WASH).