2017 Pac-12 Tennis Championships

Event: April 26-29 | Ojai, CA
Ojai Valley Athletic Club

Stanford and Cal set for first-ever Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Championship

Pac-12 Content Image

OJAI, Calif. - The top two seeds of the 2017 Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Tournament will face each other for the first ever women’s Conference title tomorrow at Libbey Park. No. 1 Stanford blanked No. 5 Oregon, 4-0 and No. 2 California battled No. 6 USC, 4-3, to reach the championship match.

Stanford took the early lead with the teams of Emma Higuchi and Caroline Lampl taking a 6-1 victory on court three and Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Caroline Doyle and partner Melissa Lord clinching the doubles point on court two with a 6-2 victory. The Conference regular season champions continued with victories by Caroline Lampl on court four (6-3, 6-3), Emma Higuchi on court six (6-1, 6-2), and Taylor Davidson clinching the match on court three (6-4, 6-2).

California and USC battled for a spot in the Championship match with the Golden Bears with the deciding point coming from Maya Jansen on court five (6-1, 4-6, 6-4). Cal took the doubles point with wins from the teams of Stephane Lin and Denise Starr and Maegan Manasse and Jansen. USC’s Madison Westby started with a win for the Trojans on court four (6-2, 6-2), Cal then answered with a victory by Pac-12 Player of the Week honoree Denise Starr got the victory on court three (2-6, 6-7). It was a back-and-fourth battle that ultimately lead to Cal’s Jansen getting the final point on court five to send the Golden Bears to the first Pac-12 women’s championship match.

This Bay Area rivalry has met once before during the regular season, seeing the Cardinal take the win and the regular season crown, 4-3. The inaugural Pac-12 Women’s Tennis championship begins tomorrow at 3 p.m. at Libbey Park in Ojai, Calif. And will be broadcast live on the Pac-12 Network. For more information and full results, visit pac-12.com/tennischamps.

No. 1 Stanford 1, No. 5 Oregon 0

1. Shweta Sangwan/ Julia Eshet (ORE) vs. Emily Arbuthnott/ Taylor Davidson (STAN) 3-5 suspended
2. Caroline Doyle/Melissa Lord (STAN) def. Alyssa Tobita / Rifanty Kahfiani (ORE), 6-2
3. Emma Higuchi/ Caroline Lampl (STAN) def. Nia Rose / Marlou Kluiving (ORE), 6-1
Order of finish: 3, 2

1. Caroline Doyle (STAN) vs Alyssa Tobita (ORE), 2-6, 6-4 suspended
2. Melissa Lord (STAN) vs Shweta Sangwan (ORE), 6-3, 6-5 suspended
3. Taylor Davidson (STAN) def. Nia Rose (ORE), 6-4, 6-2
4. Caroline Lampl (STAN) def. Julia Eshet (ORE), 6-3, 6-3
5. Daniela Nasser (ORE) vs Emily Arbuthnott (STAN), 6-2, 2-3 suspended
6. Emma Higuchi (STAN) def. Marlou Kluiving (ORE), 6-1, 6-2
Order of finish: 4, 6, 3

No. 2 California 4, No. 6 USC 3

1. Maegan Manasse/Maya Jansen (CAL) def. Gabby Smith / Zoë Katz (USC), 6-3
2. Angela Kulikov / Madison Westby (USC) vs Olivia Hauger/Karla Popovic (CAL), 5-3 suspended
3. Stephane Lin /Denise Starr (CAL) def. Jessica Failla / Sydney Van Alphen (USC), 6-2
Order of Finish: 3, 1

1. Jessica Failla (USC) def. Maegan Manasse (CAL), 2-6, 6-2, 6-3
2. Gabby Smith (USC) def. Karla Popovic (CAL), 6-3, 6-3
3. Denise Starr (CAL) def. Zoë Katz (USC), 2-6, 6-7
4. Madison Westby (USC) def. Olivia Hauger (CAL), 6-2, 6-2
5. Maya Jansen (CAL) def. Angela Kulikov (USC), 6-1, 4-6, 6-4
6. Maria Smith (CAL) def. Sydney Van Alphen (USC), 7-6, 6-0
Order of Finish: 4, 3, 2, 6, 1, 5