All eleven Pac-12 Women's Golf teams represented at NCAA Regionals

Pac-12 Content Image

SAN FRANCISCO- The Pac-12 Conference will be well represented in the 2017 NCAA Women’s Golf Championships with all eleven teams having representatives at the four regional tournaments, which will be conducted May 8-10. Ten teams and one individual will play at the Albuquerque, Athens, Columbus, and Lubbock Regionals.

Four teams travel to the Albuquerque Regional played at The Championship Golf Course at UNM in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and hosted by the University of New Mexico. Stanford, USC, California, and Washington compete at the Albuquerque Regional. Arizona competes at the Athens Regional played at the University of Georgia Golf Course in Athens, Georgia, and the University of Georgia hosts. Colorado competes at the Columbus Regional played at OSU Golf Club-Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio, and is hosted by the Ohio State University. Finally, four teams and Alivia Brown of Washington State compete at the Lubbock Regional played at the Rawls Course in Lubbock Texas and is hosted by Texas Tech University. The Pac-12 champion and automatic bid competes at UCLA, as well as Arizona State, Oregon, and Oregon State.

A total of 384 participants have been selected for regional competition. Of these players, 132 will advance to the championships finals. Six teams and three individuals will advance from each regional.

The national championships will be May 19-24 at Rich Harvest Farms, in Sugar Grove, Illinois, hosted by Northern Illinois University. The Golf Channel will televise the final three days of the championship live.

The Pac-12 Conference has claimed 17 NCAA team titles and produced 14 NCAA individual champions. Since 2005, the Pac-12 has earned six NCAA team titles (2008 - USC ; 2009 - ASU; 2011 – UCLA; 2013 – USC; 2015 – Stanford; 2016 - Washington) and four NCAA individual titles (2006 - Dewi Schreefel, USC; 2008 - Azahara Muñoz, ASU; 2013 - Annie Park, USC; 2014 - Doris Chen, USC).

NCAA Championships Format

All 24 teams and 12 individuals advancing from regional play will complete 54-holes of stroke play. Following 72 holes of competition, an individual champion will be declared along with finishers 2-15. The top eight teams after 54 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the number one seed playing the number eight seed, the number two seed versus the number seven seed, the number three seed versus the number six seed, and the number four seed versus the number five seed competing in match play. A total of five points will be available with one point being awarded for each individual match. Winning teams will advance to the semifinals and subsequently the finals. The first team to win three points within a match will advance, or in the case of the final match be declared the national champion.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network