Six Pac-12 Men's Golf teams selected for NCAA Regionals


SAN FRANCISCO-- The Pac-12 Conference will be well represented in the 2017 NCAA Men’s Golf Championships as six teams will compete in one of six 54-hole regional tournaments, which will be conducted May 15-17.

STANFORD and USC earned No. 1 seeds, while defending NCAA Champion OREGON grabs a No. 2 seed. The Cardinal are the top seed and host at the Stanford Region (Stanford Golf Course, Stanford, Calif.), while the Trojans hold the top seed in the Sammamish Region (Aldarra Golf Club, Sammamish, Wash.). Oregon heads to the Baton Rouge Region (University Club, Baton Rouge, La.)

Joining USC in the Sammamish Region is No. 5 seed and host WASHINGTON. ARIZONA STATE is the No. 5 seed in the Austin Region (The University of Texas Golf Club, Austin, Texas), while COLORADO rounds out the selection of Pac-12 teams with the No. 6 seed at the West Lafayette Region (Kampen Course, West Lafayette, Ind.).

The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals, which will be held May 26-May 31, at Rich Harvest Farms in Sugar Grove, Ill. (Northern Illinois, host).

The Pac-12 Conference has claimed 15 NCAA team titles and produced 18 NCAA individual champions. Since 2003, the Pac-12 has netted four team champions (2004 - California; 2007 - Stanford; 2008 – UCLA; 2016 –Oregon) and seven individual champions (2003 - Alejandro Canizares, ASU; 2005 - James Lepp, WASH; 2007 - Jamie Lovemark, USC; 2008 - Kevin Chappell, UCLA; 2013 - Max Homa, CAL; 2014 – Cameron Wilson, STAN; 2016 – Aaron Wise, ORE).

NCAA Championships Format

All 30 teams and six individuals advancing from regional play will complete 54 holes of stroke play. Following 54 holes of competition, an individual champion will be declared along with finishers 2-15. The top eight teams after 54 holes of play will be placed into a bracket with the number one seed playing the number eight seed, the number two seed versus the number seven seed, the number three seed versus the number six seed, and the number four seed versus the number five seed competing in match play. A total of five points will be available with one point being awarded for each individual match. Winning teams will advance to the semifinals and subsequently the finals. The first team to win three points within a match will advance, or in the case of the final match be declared the national champion.

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder