Six Pac-12 Tennis teams advance in NCAA Championships to round of 16

Pac-12 Content Image

NCAA Women's Tennis Bracket | NCAA Men's Tennis Bracket

SAN FRANCISCO - Six Pac-12 tennis teams, including two women’s and four men’s squads, advanced to the round of 16 in the NCAA Championships. The team championship resumes on May 18-23 and will be followed by the singles and doubles competition will be conducted May 24-29 at the Dan Magill Tennis Complex in Athens, Georgia. The University of Georgia will serve as host.

On the women’s side, two teams remain in the hunt for Pac-12’s 23rd national title in women’s tennis. CALIFORNIA (19-5), the No. 13-overall seed and No. 7 seed STANFORD (23-2) are the league's two representatives in the round of 16. The Golden Bears made it to the round of 16 without dropping a set in the first two rounds, sweeping both San Jose State and LSU by a score of 4-0. They will face No. 4 seed Vanderbilt (22-5) on Friday, May 19 at 4 p.m. ET. The Cardinal swept Idaho, 4-0, in round one and then defeated TCU, 4-2. It will face No. 10 Michigan (23-5) at 9 a.m. ET on May 19.

No. 4 seeded USC, No. 5 UCLA, No. 8 California and No. 16 Stanford are still vying for the Pac-12’s 55th national title in men’s tennis. The Trojans (27-5) advance after sweeping Denver and Wisconsin, 4-0 and plays No. 13 Georgia (20-7) on Thursday, May 18th at 4 p.m. ET. The Bruins (21-5) swept Army and Mississippi, 4-0 to advance onto the round of 16 and plays No. 12 Texas A&M (21-6) on May 18th at 4 p.m. ET. The Golden Bears (20-7) beat Tennessee Tech 4-0 and Northwestern 4-1 to advance and play No. 9 North Carolina (26-4) on May 18th at 7 p.m. ET. The Cardinal (18-8) beat Idaho 4-0 and Michigan 4-1 to advance and plays No. 1 Wake Forest (29-2) on May 18th at 7 p.m. ET.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network