Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Four Pac-12 teams to compete in NCAA Baseball Championship

May 29, 2017

SAN FRANCISCO - Four Pac-12 baseball teams earned berths to the 2017 NCAA Baseball Championship, the Division I Baseball Committee announced today. OREGON STATE earned the Pac-12's automatic bid while ARIZONA, STANFORD, and UCLA earned at-large selections. Regional action begins on Thursday, June 1. All games will be broadcast live on the ESPN Networks.

The Pac-12 currently holds an all-time record of 799-484 (.623) in the NCAA Baseball Championship, with 28 titles all-time, the latest coming from UCLA in 2013.

Oregon State, the 2017 Pac-12 Champions, had a remarkable season and a historic league run. The Beavs are headed into the postseason as the number one team in the nation, as they have been for the majority of the season. OSU currently carry a 16-game winning streak, the longest active streak in the nation. As the No. 1 seed in their regional pod, the Beavs host and play No. 4-seeded Holy Cross Friday, June 2nd at 7 p.m. PT. Nebraska earned the No. 2 seed in the pod while Yale is No. 3.

Stanford earned its first trip to the NCAA Baseball Championship since 2014. It is the program's 33rd all-time appearance, the 14th-most in NCAA history (1954-present). The Cardinal boast a 40-14 overall record and placed second in the Pac-12 with a 21-9 record. Stanford is entering postseason play on a seven-game winning streak. The Cardinal are seeded No. 1 in their four-team regional pod and are joined by No. 4 seed Sacramento State, No. 3 seed BYU and No. 2 seed Cal State Fullerton. Stanford will square off against Sacramento State on June 1 at 6 p.m. PT.

UCLA is in the NCAA Baseball Championship for the first time since 2015 and the 21st time overall in program history. UCLA won the national championship in 2013. The Bruins were third place in the Pac-12, posting a 19-11 league record and a 30-25 overall record. UCLA, the No. 3 seed in the regional pod, will face No. 2 seed Texas at 7 p.m. PT on June 2. The host and No. 1 seed Long Beach State and No. 4 seed San Diego State are the other two teams in the pod.

Arizona finished fourth in the Pac-12 with 37-19 overall record and and a 16-14 Conference record. For the Wildcats, it is their 39th all-time appearance. Arizona won the national championship in 2012 and took their journey to the College World Series final in 2016. In its regional pod, Arizona earned the No. 2 seed and will face No. 3 seed Sam Houston State at 4 p.m. PT on June 2. Texas Tech is the host and No. 1 seed in the pod while the No. 4 seed went to Delaware.

While 15 of the regional sites are scheduled to be played Friday through Monday, June 2-5, competition at the Stanford Regional will begin Thursday, June 1 and will conclude either Sunday or Monday, June 4 or 5. BYU, which won the automatic qualifier by capturing the West Coast Conference tournament championship, does not participate in any athletics competition on Sundays. Therefore, if the Cougars advance to the regional final, that game will take place June 5; otherwise that regional championship game is scheduled for Sunday, June 4. Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Tuesday, June 6 at approximately 8 a.m. (ET). 

The 71st Men’s College World Series begins play Saturday, June 17, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.