Skip to main content

Ten Pac-12 soccer athletes featured on the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Aug 8, 2017
John McGillen

SAN FRANCISCO – Ten Pac-12 soccer student-athletes appear on the 2017 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List, including three men and a national-best seven women.

On the men’s side, San Diego State sophomore Pablo Pelaez and Stanford seniors Tomas Hilliard-Arce and Foster Langsdorf of reigning NCAA Champion Stanford represent the Pac-12 on the watch list. Stanford is the only team to have more than one student-athlete on the list. Langsdorf was the 2017 Pac-12 Co-Player of the Year and Hilliard-Arce was the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year.

Five of six Pac-12 men’s soccer teams open their seasons on Friday, Aug. 25, including Washington hosting New Mexico on Pac-12 Washington at 8:00 p.m. PT.

On the women’s side, the Pac-12 has the most representatives of any conference with seven student-athletes appearing on the watch list. This is the most Pac-12 women’s soccer players picked for the MAC Hermann Watch List since seven in 2010.

Stanford is represented by the midfield duo of senior Andi Sullivan and sophomore Tierna Davidson. The Cardinal has had two players selected to the watch list for three consecutive years and is one of four programs in the nation to have multiple representatives this year. Sullivan was the 2016 Pac-12 Player of the Year and makes her third appearance on the watch list (2015, 2016). Davidson earned a place on the All-Pac-12 Second Team, Pac-12 All-Freshman Team and Top Drawer Soccer's Freshman Best XI First Team last season.

UCLA sophomore midfielder Jessie Fleming makes the prestigious list after receiving 2016 Third Team All-America and First Team All-Pac-12 honors. Fleming has been a member of the Canadian Women’s National Team since 2013 and was Top Drawer Soccer’s Freshman of the Year last season.

Arizona State junior defender Jemma Purfield is as a transfer this year following new head coach Graham Winkworth to Tempe for her first season. Purfield was the 2015 Sun Belt Player of the Year and led the South Alabama Jaguars with 11 goals last year.

Colorado sophomore midfielder Taylor Korniek, the 2016 Pac-12 Freshman of the Year, represents the Buffs after receiving Top Drawer Soccer’s First Team Freshman All-America honors last season.

USC junior defender Ally Prisock earns her first spot on the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List and led the Trojan defense to a 2016 National Championship. Prisock was a 2015 Pac-12 All-Freshman Team honoree and is currently competing as a member of the U.S Youth Women’s National Team U-19 squad.

Utah junior forward Hailey Skolmoski was NSCAA All-Region First Team in 2016 and was the first Ute in program history to earn First Team All-Pac-12 honors. Skolmoski led the Pac-12 with 13 goals last year, including seven game-winners.

The Pac-12 women’s soccer and 2017 fall sports season begins Friday, August 18th with NCAA champion USC hosting UC Davis at 3 p.m. PT on the Pac-12 Network.

Pablo Pelaez, SO, M, San Diego State
Tomas Hilliard-Arce, SR, D, Stanford
Foster Langsdorf, SR, F, Stanford

Jemma Purfield, JR, D, Arizona State
Taylor Korniek, SO, M, Colorado
Ally Prisock, JR, D, USC
Tierna Davidson, SO, M, Stanford
Andi Sullivan, SR, M, Stanford
Jessie Fleming, SO, M, UCLA
Hailey Skolmoski, JR, F, Utah