Skip to main content

2018 Pac-12 Swimming (W) & Diving (M/W) Championships

Event: Feb. 21-24 | Federal Way, WA

NCAA & American records highlight day 3 of Pac-12 Women's Swimming & Diving and Men's Diving Championships

Feb 23, 2018

Results (PDF)

Federal Way, Wash. - Stanford keeps a strong lead after day three of competition at the Pac-12 Women’s Swimming and Diving and Men’s Diving Championships, held at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash. The Cardinal ended the third day of competition with two record breaking events and nine podium finishes.


Men’s Platform
• Stanford’s Theodore Miclau won the men’s platform with a score of 398.35. Miclau’s win marked the second-straight for the Cardinal after his teammate Tarek Abdelghany won the even in 2017.
• USC’s Dashiell Enos took second with a score of 397.75. This marked his second-straight second place of the meet after his podium placing in the 3-meter the day before.
• Arizona State’s Youssef Selim, the 1-meter champion crowned the day before, took third with a score of 386.40.

400-yard Individual Medley
• Stanford started the finals session of day 3 in dominant fashion with a sweep of the podium in the 400-yard IM.
Katie Ledecky touched the wall first in a time of 3:56.53 a new American, NCAA, Pac-12 and Pac-12 Championship record.
• The previous American record was held by teammate Ella Eastin who took second in the event in a time of 3:57.32, also beating her old American record time.
• Completing the sweep was Brooke Forde. The freshman touched the wall in a time of 4:01.04.

100-yard Butterfly
• Following the record setting tone established in the previous event, USC’s Louise Hansson won the 100-yard butterfly in a new Pac-12 Championship record of 50.17.
• Stanford’s Ally Howe took second in the event in a time of 51.03.
• Rounding out the podium was California senior Noemie Thomas who took third in a time of 51.11.
• All three times were NCAA A Standards.

200-yard Freestyle
• Stanford’s Katie Ledecky won her second event of the night in the 200-yard freestyle. The sophomore swam a time of 1:40.71, just shy of the Pac-12 Championship record set by teammate Simone Manuel in 2017 (1:40.37).
• Manuel touched the wall right behind Ledecky to take second in a time of 1:40.78.
• California freshman Robin Neumann took third in a time of 1:43.64.

100-yard Breaststroke
• USC junior Riley Scott won the 100-yard breaststroke in an NCAA A standard time of 58.81.
• Arizona State sophomore Sil Kansakoski took second in a time of 59.04.
•Stanford again placed on the podium with junior Kim Williams taking third in 59.07.

100-yard Backstroke
• 2018 Pac-12 Women’s Swimming and Diving Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Stanford’s Janet Hu, won the 100-yard backstroke in a time of 49.93.
• The senior beat 2016 Olympic medalist, California’s Kathleen Baker. Baker took second in a time of 50.13.
• Bakers teammate Amy Bilquist took third in a time of 51.28.

Women’s 3-meter
• UCLA’s Eloise Belanger continued to dominate the diving competition by winning her second event of the meet, the 3-meter, in a score of 369.75.
• The junior just out score second place finisher Arizona State’s Ashley McCool who scored 367.95.
• Senior Kassidy Cook reached the podium for the second time, placing third with a score of 343.94.

400-yard Medley Relay
• Stanford closed out day three of competition by breaking the American, NCAA and Pac-12 record they set at the 2017 NCAA Championships.
• The team of Ally Howe, Kim Williams, Janet Hu and Simone Manuel clocked a time of 3:25.15 also breaking the Pac-12 Championship record.
• California followed closely behind to finish second in a time of 3:25.50, also breaking the previous records. The team consisted of Kathleen Baker, Ali Harrison, Noemie Thomas and Abbey Weitzeil.
• Arizona took third after USC was disqualified. The team of Katrina Konopka, Mallory Korenwinder, Mackenzie Rumrill and Jamie Stone clocked a time of 3:32.85.

Team Scores Through Event 12
1. Stanford - 1080.5
2. California - 924
3. Arizona State - 530
4. Arizona - 526.5
5. USC - 507.5
6. UCLA - 415.5
7. Utah - 257
8. Washington State - 184
9. Oregon State - 106