Skip to main content

2018 Pac-12 Swimming (W) & Diving (M/W) Championships

Event: Feb. 21-24 | Federal Way, WA

Stanford captures 21st Pac-12 Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship

Feb 24, 2018

Full Results (PDF)

Federal Way, Wash. - Stanford captured its second-straight and 21st overall women’s swimming and diving Conference title in record fashion at the 2018 Pac-12 Women’s Swimming and Diving and Men’s Diving Championships, placing first in 20 out of the 21 events, including nine first places, totaling 1,776.5 points. Four American records and seven Pac-12 championship records were broken over four days of competition, setting the tone for the 2018 NCAA Championships to be held March 14-17 in Columbus, Ohio at the McCorkle Aquatic Pavilion.

1650-yard Freestyle
• Stanford opened the night with a one-two finish in the 1650-yard freestyle. Sophomore Megan Byrnes won the race in 15:49.38.
• Her teammate junior Leah Stevens was second in a time of 15:52.54. Both times were fast enough for NCAA A standards.
• Arizona sophomore Kirsten Jacobsen was third in a time of 16:04.01.

200-yard Backstroke
• 2016 Olympic medalist, California’s Kathleen Baker won the 200-yard backstroke in a time of 1:48.27, breaking the Pac-12 Championship record she set at this meet last year.
• In second was Stanford’s Janet Hu in a time of 1:49.49. This was the fifth podium appearance at this meet for the senior.
• Hu’s teammate Ally Howe took third in a time of 1:50.05. The senior, as well as the first two finishers, swam times fast enough for NCAA A standards.

100-yard Freestyle
• Stanford’s Simone Manuel won her second freestyle event of the meet, after winning the 50-yard freestyle on day two.
• Her time of 46.43 was just shy of the Pac-12 Championship record she set at this meet last year (46.36).
• California took second and third with sophomore Abbey Weitzeil swimming a 46.63 and freshman Robin Neumann clocking a 48.09.

200-yard Breaststroke
• USC took the top two spots in the 200-yard breaststroke. Freshman Maggie Aroesty won the race in a time of 2:06.85, an NCAA A standard.
• Her teammate junior Riley Scott took second in a time of 2:07.29.
• Rounding out the top three was Stanford freshman Brooke Forde. Forde finished right behind second place in a time of 2:07.43.

200-yard Butterfly
• Stanford’s Ella Eastin had a come from behind win to break the American, NCAA, Pac-12 and Pac-12 Championship record in a time of 1:49.51.
• The junior had an incredible last 100 to take over the lead from the 2018 Pac-12 100-yard butterfly champion, USC’s Louisse Hansson. The sophomore took second in a time of 1:51.13.
• Stanford again placed two on the podium with sophomore Katie Drabot taking third in a time of 1:52.07.
• All three times were good enough for the NCAA A standard.

Women’s Platform
• Arizona State senior Mara Aiacoboae won the final diving event of the 2018 Pac-12 Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships. Her score of 327.25 put her on the top of the podium in the women’s platform.
• Arizona’s Delaney Schnell took second with a score of 285.60.
• USC’s Naomi Goblet was third with a score of 260.80.

400-yard Freestyle Relay
• In the final event of the Pac-12 Championships, California won the 400-yard freestyle relay. The team of Amy Bilquist, Katie McLaughlin, Kathleen Baker, and Abbey Weitzeil swam a time of 3:09.04.
• Stanford took second in a time of 3:09.76. The team of Janet Hu, Katie Ledecky, Alex Meyers and Simone Manuel finished right behind the Golden Bears in a close finish.
• USC’s team of Louise Hansson, Marta Ciesla, Tatum Wade and Lexie Malazdrewicz took third in a time of 3:13.36.
• All three times were NCAA A standard times.

Team Scores Through Event 21
1. Stanford - 1776.5
2. California - 1487
3. Arizona State - 996
4. USC - 948.5
5. Arizona - 932.5
6. UCLA - 847.5
7. Utah - 441
8. Washington State - 307
9. Oregon State - 199