Teams head to Seattle for Pac-12 Tournament

Bob Drebin/

Download Complete Release (PDF)

• After an exciting regular season where the champion was determined on the final weekend, all 12 teams are headed to Seattle for the Pac-12 Women’s Basketball Tournament at KeyArena, March 1-4. The winner of the tournament secures the Conference’s automatic bid.

• OREGON claimed its third all-time Pac-12 regular-season title and first since 2000. The Ducks are also the No. 1 overall seed for the first time in the history of the Pac-12 Tournament, which dates back to 2002. STANFORD, OREGON STATE and UCLA earned first-round byes, along with Oregon.

• Three Pac-12 teams are ranked in the top 10 in both national polls and four altogether are in the top 20. The Ducks lead the way at No. 6/6 in the Associated Press and USA Today/WBCA polls. The Bruins are No. 9/9 and OSU is No. 10/10. The Cardinal are ranked No. 16 by the writers and No. 20 by the coaches.

• Oregon sophomore Sabrina Ionescu was voted the Pac-12 Player of the Year by the coaches making her the sixth player all-time to earn the honor as a sophomore. Ionescu’s teammate Satou Sabally was tabbed the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year, making her the second-straight Duck to win the honor after Ionescu won it last year. UCLA’s Jordin Canada was voted the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, the first Bruin to win the award, and Stanford’s Brittany McPhee was selected the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year. In addition, the coaches voted Cardinal head coach Tara VanDerveer the John R. Wooden Coach of the Year for the 15th time.

• The Conference office announced the All-Pac-12, All-Freshman and All-Defensive teams on Tuesday. Among the 15 players voted to the all-conference team by the league’s head coaches, CALIFORNIA’s Kristine Anigwe and Canada were voted to the All-Pac-12 team for the third time in their careers.

• Earlier this week, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced its 10 semifinalists for the Citizen Naismith Trophy Women’s College Player of the year. Among those named were Canada and Ionescu. UO head coach Kelly Graves was named one of 10 semifinalists for the Naismith Coach of the Year honor.

• All 11 games of the Pac-12 Tournament will be nationally televised. The first round through semifinal round, March 1-3, wlil be broadcast on Pac-12 Network. The championship game on March 4 will be televised on ESPN2.


Thursday, Mar. 1    
#8 Utah vs. #9 Colorado P12N 11 a.m. PT
#5 California vs. #12 Washington P12N 2 p.m. PT
#7 USC vs. #10 Washington State P12N 6 p.m. PT
#6 Arizona State vs. #11 Arizona P12N 8:30 p.m. PT
Friday, Mar. 3    
#1 Oregon vs. #8/9 Winner P12N 11:30 a.m. PT
#4 UCLA vs. #5/12 Winner P12N 2 p.m. PT
#2 Stanford vs. #7/10 Winner P12N 6 p.m. PT
#3 Oregon State vs. #6/11 Winner P12N 8:30 p.m. PT
Saturday, Mar. 4    
Game 5 winner vs. Game 6 winner P12N 6 p.m. PT
Game 7 winner vs. Game 8 winner P12N 8:30 p.m. PT
Sunday, Mar. 5    
Championship game ESPN2 8:30 p.m. PT


Teams Pac-12 Record Overall Record
Oregon 16-2 27-4
Stanford 14-3 20-9
UCLA 14-4 23-5
Oregon State 14-4 23-6
California 11-7 20-9
Arizona State 10-8 19-9
USC 9-9 19-11
Utah 8-10 19-10
Colorado 5-13 14-15
Washington State 3-14 10-19
Arizona 2-16 6-23
Washington 1-17 7-22


  Player of the Week Freshman of the Week
Feb. 27 Marie Gulich, OSU Kianna Smith, CAL
Feb. 19 Marie Gulich, OSU Tori Williams, UTAH
Feb. 12 Ruthy Hebard, ORE Michaela Onyenwere, UCLA
Feb. 5 Brittany McPhee, STAN Kiana Williams, STAN
Jan. 29 Jordin Canada, UCLA Satou Sabally, ORE
Jan. 22 Monique Billings, UCLA Tori Williams, UTAH
Jan. 15 Kristine Anigwe, CAL Michaela Onyenwere, UCLA
Jan. 8 Borislava Hristova, WSU Kiana Williams, STAN
Jan. 1 Sabrina Ionescu, ORE Satou Sabally, ORE
Dec. 26 Sabrina Ionescu, ORE Kianna Smith, CAL
Dec. 18 Sabrina Ionescu, ORE Annika Jank, COLO
Dec. 12 Kristine Anigwe, CAL Annika Jank, COLO
Dec. 4 Sabrina Ionescu, ORE Satou Sabally, ORE
Nov. 27 Alanna Smith, STAN Kianna Smith, CAL
Nov. 20 Jordin Canada, UCLA Annika Jank, COLO
Nov. 13 Sabrina Ionescu, ORE Satou Sabally, ORE
Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder