Skip to main content

2018 Pac-12 Men's Swimming Championship

Event: Feb. 28-Mar. 3 | Federal Way, WA

Day 3 at Pac-12 Men's Swimming Championship culminates with another outstanding finish for the Bears

Mar 2, 2018

Results (PDF)

Federal Way, Wash. - California extends its strong lead after day three of competition at the Pac-12 Men’s Swimming Championships, held at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash. The Bears ended the third day of competition by winning their fourth relay event, six podium finishes, and three individual Pac-12 titles. 


400-yard Individual Medley
• The opening event came down to California’s Andrew Seliskar picking up tempo at the final wall and finishing with a time of 3:38.65 for a new Pac-12 Championship record.
• In second place, Stanford’s Curtis Ogren clocked in at 3:40.25 for an NCAA B qualifying time.
• California rounded out the competition with a third place finish from Sean Grieshop, touching the wall at 3:42.06.
• In the last turn, Stanford junior Abrahm DeVine was on pace for second place when he was disqualified in the final 25 yards. DeVine was a three-time Pac-12 Swimmer of the Week this season.

100-yard Butterfly
• California senior Justin Lynch powered home the 100 fly to claim his second Pac-12 title so far, touching the wall first at 45.14 for an NCAA A cut.
• Fellow Golden Bears teammate Matthew Josa was neck-and-neck throughout the whole race and finished second with a 45.37 time to qualify for an NCAA A standard.  
• Arizona’s Chatham Dobbs placed third for the Wildcats first individual podium appearance with a time of 45.40.

200-yard Freestyle
• Arizona State’s Cameron Craig placed first with an NCAA B standard time of 1:33.09. He successfully defended his 2017 Pac-12 title, which still holds as the Pac-12 Championship record (1:31.71).
Dylan Carter of USC touched the wall right behind Craig to take second with a time of 1:33.15
• Arizona State freshman Grant House swam a time of 1:33.58 rounding out the podium at third.

100-yard Breaststroke
• California topped the podium as Connor Hoppe finished with a time of 51.91
• USC’s Junior Carsten Vissering followed closely behind to finish second clocking in at 52 seconds flat.
• Stanford again placed on the podium with junior Matt Anderson taking third at 52.37
• All eight swimmers in the race swam for an NCAA qualifying time.

100-yard Backstroke
• The crowd was in for an unexpected treat during the final individual event of the night as there would be no second or third place finish in the 100-yard backstroke.
• For the first time in Pac-12 history, there was a three-way tie for first place in a thrilling finish.
• Clocking in at time of 45.52, USC’s Robert Glinta and Ralf Tribuntsov and Utah’s Paul Ungur all stood at the top together for a first place finish.

400-yard Medley Relay
• California’s relay’s team continued to dominate the competition with Daniel Carr, Seliskar, Josa, and Lynch taking home the 400-yard medley relay with a time of 3:03.91. The Bears have swept the team events at the Pac-12 Men’s Swimming Champion claiming all four races, thus far.
• USC closed out day three of competition with a second place finish at 3:04.95 from Ralf Tribuntsov, Carsten Vissering and 2016 former Olympians Dylan Carter and Santo Condorelli.
• The team of Ryan Dudzinski, Matt Anderson, Andrew Liang and Sam Perry placed third for Stanford at 3:06.01
• All three squads finished with NCAA A qualifying time.

Team Scores Through Event 15
1. California - 677
2. Stanford - 544
3. USC – 411.33
4. Arizona State - 285
5. Arizona - 259
6. UCLA – 221.66

Competition resumes on Saturday at 11 a.m. PT with the preliminary rounds of the 200-yard backstroke, 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard breaststroke, and 200-yard butterfly. The finals session starts with 1650-yard freestyle and at 6:30 p.m. PT the Pac-12 Men’s Swimming Championship will be broadcast live on Pac-12 Washington.


At the Pac-12 Men’s Diving Championship last weekend, USC had four top-three finishes led by Henry Fusaro who won the 3-meter event with a score of 434.80 and finished second in the 1-meter with 353.95. Dashiell Enos (USC) placed second in the 3-meter event with a score of 420.25 and the Platform scoring 397.75 points. Youssef Selim (Arizona State) won the 1-meter event (382.90) and came in third on the Platform (386.40) to earn Pac-12 Diver of the Meet. Theodore Miclau (Stanford) was the plat-form champion (398.35).