Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

2018 Pac-12 Tennis Championships

Event: April 25-28 | Ojai, CA
Ojai Valley Athletic Club

Stanford, UCLA advance to Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Championship title match

Apr 27, 2018
Holly Roberts

OJAI, Calif. – The second annual Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Team Championship will again come down to the top two seeds as No. 1 STANFORD and No. 2 UCLA advanced through Friday’s semifinals at the Ojai Valley Athletic Club and Weil Tennis Academy. The Cardinal and Bruins will meet for the Pac-12 title and the league's automatic NCAA Championship bid Saturday on Pac-12 Los Angeles.

Top seeded and No. 16 nationally ranked Stanford (17-3) swept past No. 5 seed WASHINGTON STATE (21-7), 4-0, for the chance to defend its team title from last year’s inaugural Pac-12 Women’s Tennis Championship.

The sweep of WSU marked Stanford’s fourth in five matches of Pac-12 team championship play, its lone hiccup coming in a 4-1 victory over second-seeded CALIFORNIA in last year’s title match.

After securing the doubles point versus WSU, Stanford quickly surged to a 3-0 lead behind singles victories from No. 6 Emma Higuchi and No. 4 Emily Arbuthnott. The Cougars fought to extend the match, but the Cardinal’s No. 1 Michaela Gordon finished off the match with a 6-3, 7-5 triumph.

Friday’s victory extended the Cardinal’s current winning streak to 13 consecutive matches as well as being its 28th straight triumph against Pac-12 Conference competition dating to April 2016. It was also the 1,000th victory in the 44-year history of the program.

Second-seeded and No. 13 nationally ranked UCLA (20-4) rallied from a doubles deficit to defeat No. 3 seed ARIZONA STATE (16-7), 4-1, for the opportunity to dethrone the Cardinal.

ASU took the doubles point behind No. 1 and No. 2 flight victories from Ilze Hattingh and Lauryn John-Baptiste (6-2) and Tereza Kolarova and Savannah Slaysman (6-4).

However, UCLA roared back with four consecutive singles victories from No. 4 Abi Altick, No. 6 Alaina Miller, No. 2 Jada Hart and No. 1 Ena Shibahara. Altick, Miller and Hart all prevailed in straight sets, while reigning Pac-12 Player and Freshman of the Year Shibahara shook off a second-set shutout with a match-clinching 6-3 victory in the third set.

The victory was UCLA’s 11th in a row overall and 11th straight against Pac-12 opponents. The Bruins’ last league loss came at the hands of the Cardinal, 4-3, at Stanford on March 9.

Saturday’s title match will be played at 12 p.m. PT at Libbey Park in downtown Ojai. Full coverage of the Pac-12 Tennis Championships can be found at



No. 1 Stanford 4, No. 5 Washington State 0 (WEIL)

1. Emily Arbuthnott/Michaela Gordon, STAN def. Melisa Ates/Barbara Michalkova, WSU – 6-1
2. Tiffany Mylonas/Guzal Yusupova, WSU vs. Caroline Lampl/Kimberly Yee, STAN – 5-4 Abandoned
3. Melissa Lord/Janice Shin, STAN def. Michaela Bayerlova/Aneta Miksovska, WSU – 6-3
Order of finish: 1, 3

1. Michaela Gordon, STAN def. Michaela Bayerlova, WSU – 2-0 (6-3, 7-5)
2. Melissa Lord, STAN vs. Guzal Yusupova, WSU – 6-3, 6-6 Abandoned
3. Barbara Michalkova, WSU vs. Carolina Lampl, STAN – 5-7, 6-4 Abandoned
4. Emily Arbuthnott, STAN def. Tiffany Mylonas, WSU – 2-0 (6-3, 6-0)
5. Janice Shin, STAN vs. Aneta Miksovska, WSU – 6-2, 2-3 Abandoned
6. Emma Higuchi, STAN def. Melisa Ates, WSU – 2-0 (6-0, 6-2)
Order of finish: 6, 4, 1

No. 2 UCLA 4, No. 3 Arizona State 1 (OVAC)

1. Ilze Hattingh/Lauryn John-Baptiste, ASU def. Terri Fleming/Jada Hart, UCLA – 6-2
2. Tereza Kolarova/Savannah Slaysman, ASU def. Gabby Andrews/Ayan Broomfield, UCLA – 6-4
3. Alaina Miller/Ena Shibahara, UCLA def. Nicole Fossa Huergo/Sasa Klanecek, ASU – 6-3
Order of finish: 1, 3, 2

1. Ena Shibahara, UCLA def. Lauryn John-Baptiste, ASU – 2-1 (6-1, 0-6, 6-3)
2. Jada Hart, UCLA def. Ilze Hattingh, ASU – 2-0 (6-4, 6-4)
3. Nicole Fossa Huergo, ASU vs. Terri Fleming, UCLA – 1-6, 6-2, 6-5 Abandoned
4. Abi Altick, UCLA def. Savannah Slaysman, ASU – 2-0 (6-0, 6-1)
5. Sasa Klanecek, ASU vs. Ayan Broomfield, UCLA – 7-5, 5-5 Abandoned
6. Alaina Miller, UCLA def. Tereza Kolarova, ASU – 2-0 (6-2, 6-3)
Order of finish: 4, 6, 2, 1