Skip to main content

2018 Pac-12 Women's Lacrosse Tournament

Event: April 26-29 | Boulder, CO
Prentup Field

Stanford wins first-ever Pac-12 Women's Lacrosse Tournament Championship

Apr 29, 2018

Boulder, Colo. – In the inaugural championship game, No. 2 STANFORD defeated regular-season champion No. 1 COLORADO to become the first-ever Pac-12 Women’s Lacrosse Tournament Champion.

Stanford took charge of the first half, leading 7-2 going into halftime. The Cardinal topped Colorado in shots with 21 and saves with six compared to CU’s 18 and five, respectively. The Buffs were still leading in draw controls with six.

The Cardinal came out strong in the second half scoring three more goals within the first two minutes, bringing the score to 10-2. Stanford continued to dominate offensively, scoring a total of eight goals in the second half. Despite the Buffs effort to diminish the scoring gap, the Cardinal ended victorious, winning 15-6.

With the win, the Cardinal receives the automatic bid to the NCAA tournament. The NCAA selection show is Sunday, May 6 on The championship provides for a field of 26 teams to compete in a single elimination tournament. Stanford picks up the Conference’s automatic bid with the balance of the field selected at-large by the NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Committee.

The top six teams in the 26-team bracket for the championship are seeded and receive First Round byes. The first round begins May 11th.

The 2018 Women’s Lacrosse Championship will be held at Kenneth P. Lavalle Stadium in Stony Brook, NY. Two, two-team single elimination Semifinals games will be held Friday, May 25. The two teams winning in the semifinals will advance and compete in the single elimination National Championship game which will take place Sunday, May 27. 

2018 Pac-12 Women’s Lacrosse All-Tournament Team:
Sophie Castillo, Colorado
Eliza Christman, California
Allie DaCar, Stanford – 2018 Pac-12 Women’s Lacrosse Tournament MVP
Jackie Gilbert, USC
Darby Kiernan, Colorado
Julia Lisella, Colorado
Daniella McMahon, Stanford
Natalie Modly, Oregon
Kelsey Murray, Stanford – 2018 Pac-12 Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Kelly Myers, Stanford
Brittany Read, Oregon
Lydia Sutton, USC
Maria Villanti, Arizona State

Thursday, April 26 – Quarterfinals
No. 4 Oregon 22, No. 5 California 9
No. 3 USC 19, No. 6 Arizona State 7

Friday, April 27 – Semifinals
No. 1 Colorado 16, No. 4 Oregon 6
No. 2 Stanford 15, No. 3 USC 14

Saturday, April 29 – Championship
No. 2 Stanford 15, No. 1 Colorado 6