Eleven Pac-12 Tennis Teams to Compete in NCAA Championships

Pac-12 Content Image

Men's Bracket
Women's Bracket

SAN FRANCISCO - Pac-12 tennis will send 11 teams to compete in the 2018 NCAA Championships beginning next weekend. Seven men’s teams and four women’s squads received bids, including the Pac-12 team tournament champions, No. 2 national seed UCLA men (26-2, 8-0 Pac-12) and No. 15 national seed STANFORD women (18-3, 9-0). Three schools earned hosting privileges as Stanford and UCLA will host both the men’s and women’s competitions and USC men will also gain regional home-court advantage.

The first- and second-round competitions take place May 11-13 and the winner of each site advances to the Wake Forest Tennis Complex in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, where the 16 teams will compete for the national championship May 17-22.

The seven men’s selections are the most bids from the Conference since 2004 (8) and only the fourth time in history seven teams reached the postseason in a single season. The Pac-12 will vie for the Conference’s 55th national tennis title, more than all other conferences combined. Stanford earned the No. 4 seed and USC claimed the No. 10 seed and will be joined by ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, OREGON, and UTAH in the field of 64. 

Receiving an automatic bid, UCLA makes its 42nd consecutive trip for the most postseason appearances in the Pac-12, having advanced to the round of 16 every year since 1977. No. 4 Stanford (21-3, 7-1) received its 11th consecutive and 39th all-time NCAA Championships berth after its best regular-season finish in 17 years. No. 10 USC (17-8, 6-2) embarks on its 12th-straight postseason run and has won five titles in the last nine years while looking to add to its nation-leading 21 NCAA Championships.

For the women’s bracket, the Pac-12 teams will compete for the nation-leading 23rd NCAA team title in the sport. Three-peat Pac-12 women's champion and No. 15 national seed Stanford carries a 14-match win streak into its 37th consecutive postseason berth. The Cardinal owns a 147-19 all-time record in the NCAA Tournament and 18 national titles for the most of any program in the country. No. 12 national seed UCLA (20-5, 9-1) earns the highest seed from the Pac-12 while Arizona State and Oregon also earned at-large bids. The Bruins host a regional for the first time since 2015 in their 37th appearance dating back to the inaugural tournament in 1982.


Men’s Bracket

Friday, May 11 – First Round
Arizona State vs. Baylor (College Station, TX)
California vs. NC State (Austin, TX)
Utah vs. Oklahoma (Norman, OK)

Saturday, May 12 – First Round
#2 UCLA vs. Idaho (Los Angeles, CA)
#4 Stanford vs. New Mexico State (Stanford, CA)
#10 USC vs. UC Santa Barbara (Los Angeles, CA)
Oregon vs. Dartmouth (at Fort Worth, TX)

Women’s Bracket

May 11-12 – First Round TBD
#12 UCLA vs. Fresno State (Los Angeles, CA)
#15 Stanford vs. St. John’s (Stanford, CA)
Arizona State vs. Wake Forest (Athens, GA)
Oregon vs. Tennessee (Durham, NA) 

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network