Four Pac-12 Men's Golf teams compete for NCAA Title

SAN FRANCISCO-- Four Pac-12 Conference men’s golf teams will be in action this week as the NCAA Men’s Golf Championships get underway May 25-30 at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Okla. Representing the Pac-12 will be ARIZONA STATE, OREGON, STANFORD and UCLA. In addition, ARIZONA’s George Cunningham advanced as an individual.

While the individual champion will be decided during the four days of stroke-play competition from May 25-28, the top eight teams after four days will participate in a match-play format on May 29-30 to determine the NCAA Champion. Live scoring will available for at

ARIZONA STATE – The Sun Devils are making their 54th NCAA Championship appearance, including 32 of the last 35 seasons, and have won a pair of NCAA titles (1990, 1996). All-Pac-12 first team performer Alex del Rey (70.52), second team performer Chun An Yu (70.35) and Pac-12 All-Freshman selection Mason Andersen (71.59) lead the Sun Devils. Arizona State has posted seven top-four finishes this season, including victories at the Maui Jim Invitational, Bandon Dunes Championship and Thunderbird Invitational.

OREGON – The 2017 NCAA runner-up and 2016 NCAA Champion Oregon Ducks will be making their 30th Championship appearance. Oregon has posted four top-four finishes this season.  All-Pac-12 sophomore Norman Xiong (69.49, No. 1 by, paces the Ducks with a school-record six tournament victories this season – Rod Myers Invitational, Nike Collegiate Invitational, Duck Invitational, The Goodwin, Western Intercollegiate and most recently the NCAA Pacific Regional.

STANFORD – Eight-time NCAA champion Stanford Cardinal head to the Championships for the 62nd time. The Cardinal have posted six top-five finishes this season, including a second-place finish at last week’s Pacific Regional. The Cardinal have either won (2014, 2016, 2017) or placed second (2015, 2018) in the last five NCAA regionals. The Cardinal are led by All-Pac-12 first team selection Brandon Wu (70.21), and second-teamers Franklin Huang (71.27) and Jeffrey Swegle (70.54).

UCLA – The Bruins will be making their 25th NCAA Championships appearance and are in search of their third NCAA title (1988, 2008). The Bruins are led by a pair of second team All-Pac-12 performers Cole Madey (71.79 avg) and Hidetoshi Yoshihara (72.00), and Pac-12 All-Freshman selection Devon Bling (72.23). UCLA has posted 10 top-four finishes this season, including a victory at the Southwestern Invitational.

ARIZONA – George Cunnigham (70.55) has advanced to medalist play at the NCAA Championships after he finished tied for sixth at the Kissimmee Regional. The All-Pac-12 performer has posted 69 or better in 11 of his last 13 rounds.

Conference of Champions: The Pac-12 Conference has claimed 15 NCAA team titles and produced 18 NCAA individual champions. Since 2003, the Pac-12 has netted four team champions (2004 - California; 2007 - Stanford; 2008 – UCLA; 2016 - Oregon) and seven individual champions (2003 - Alejandro Canizares, ASU; 2005 - James Lepp, WASH; 2007 - Jamie Lovemark, USC; 2008 - Kevin Chappell, UCLA; 2013 - Max Homa, CAL; 2014 – Cameron Wilson, STAN; 2016 – Aaron Wise, ORE).

Hogan Award Finalist: California’s Collin Morikawa is a finalist for the Ben Hogan Award. A Pac-12 golfer has claimed the award each of the last six years. The last five winners were Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012), Chris Williams (Washington, 2013), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford, 2014), Jon Rahm (Arizona State, 2015 and 2016), Maverick McNealy (Stanford, 2017).

2018 Pac-12 Championship Results
April 23-25, Rolling Hills Country Club – Rolling Hills Estates, Calif.
Final Team Results (Par 71, 7,130 yards)

1. USC 347-340-351-351 — 1389 (-31)
2. Colorado 348-351-347-347 — 1393 (-27) 
3. Arizona State 353-349-341-354 — 1397 (-23)
4. Stanford 346-346-362-348 — 1402 (-18)
5. California 347-356-350-351 — 1404 (-16)
6. UCLA 361-349-355-345 — 1410 (-10)
7. Washington State 357-358-342-355 — 1412 (-8)
8. Arizona 351-350-365-356 — 1422 (+2)
9. Washington 356-356-353-359 — 1424 (+4)
10. Oregon State 352-360-360-359 — 1431 (+11)
11. Oregon 358-353-366-358 — 1435 (+15)
12. Utah 371-345-370-359 — 1445 (+25)

Final Individual Top 10 (Par 71, 7,130 yards)

1. Justin Suh, USC 68-64-65-71—268 (-16)
T2. Yannik Paul, COLO 68-69-68-67—272 (-12)
T2. Carl Yuan, WASH 67-68-70-67—272 (-12)
T2. George Cunningham, ARIZ 67-67-69-69—272 (-12)
T2. Ross Macdonald, COLO 69-69-67-67—272 (-12)
6. Koichiro Ishika, ASU 69-69-66-66—273 (-11)
7. Collin Morikawa, CAL 67-71-70-65—274 (-10)
T8. Jeffrey Swegle, STAN 67-65-75-68—274 (-9)
T8. Zach Andersen, WSU 72-68-65-70—275 (-9)
T10. Franklin Huang, STAN 65-69-71-71—276 (-8)
T10. Cole Madey, UCLA 68-68-70-70—276 (-8)

All-Pac-12 First Team
George Cunningham, Sr., Arizona
Alex del Rey, So., Arizona State
KK Limbhasut, Jr., California
Collin Morikawa, Jr., California
Yannik Paul, Sr., Colorado
Justin Suh, Jr., USC
Brandon Wu, Jr., Stanford
Norman Xiong, So., Oregon

All-Pac-12 Second Team
Chun An Yu, So., Arizona State
Sebastian Crampton, RJr., California
Ryan Gronlund, RJr., Oregon
Franklin Huang, Sr., Stanford
Cole Madey, Jr., UCLA
Jeffrey Swegle, Sr., Stanford
Hidetoshi Yoshihara, So., UCLA
Carl Yuan, Jr., Washington

Honorable Mention: Mason Andersen, Fr., Arizona State; Zach Anderson, Sr., Washington State; Koichiro Ishika, Fr., Arizona State; Ross Macdonald, So., Colorado; Kaito Onishi, Fr., USC; Isaiah Salinda, Jr., Stanford

Pac-12 All-Freshman Team
Mason Andersen, Arizona State
Devon Bling, UCLA
Kaito Onishi, USC
Blake Tomlinson, Utah
Spencer Tibbits, Oregon State

Honorable Mention: Koichiro Ishika, Arizona State; Kaiwen Liu, California
Pac-12 Player of the Year: Justin Suh, USC
Pac-12 Freshman of the Year: Kaito Onishi, USC
Pac-12 Coach of the Year: Walter Chun, California
Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year: John Souza, Colorado

2018 NCAA Regional Results

4. UCLA (+2); Top individual: T8. Devon Bling (73-69-69—211, -5)

6. Arizona (-18); Top individual: T6. George Cunningham (67-72-68—207, -4)

2. Stanford (-19). Top individual; 2. Brandon Wu (67-67-68—202, -14)
5. Oregon (-12). Top Individual; 1. Norman Xiong (68-67-66—201, -15)
7. Colorado (-2). Top Individual; T12. Yannik Paul (71-69-72—212, -4)
9. USC (+3). Top Individual; T19. Justin Suh (73-72-69—214, -2)

5. Arizona State (-18). Top individual; T5. Chun An Yu (65-70-69—204, -9)
7. California (-7). Top individual; T10. Collin Morikawa (68-71-68—207, -6)

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network