Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

OSU’s Anderson named Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete Of The Year

Jun 19, 2018

SAN FRANCISCO – OREGON STATE senior outfielder Jack Anderson was named the Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2018 season, the Conference office announced today. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes who are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Anderson (Lake Oswego, Ore.) boasts a 3.71 grade-point average as a kinesiology major and plans to pursue a doctorate in physical therapy after this season. After being redshirted as a true freshman in 2014, he walked on to the team the following year and has since been a three-year starter and an All-Pac-12 First Team member in 2017. Anderson also earned Pac-12 All-Academic First Team selections in each of the last three seasons (2016-18) and was a CoSIDA Academic All-District 8 First-Team honoree the past two years. Anderson is the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) Vice President and recipient of the 2017 Pac-12 Leadership Award, which is a $3000 scholarship for postgraduate study awarded to one male and one female student-athlete each year. Anderson has demonstrated his commitment to the community and participated in multiple outreach programs including: Beavers Without Borders, Candle Lighters Fishing, Tim Tebow's Night To Shine, I-5 Winter Coat Drive, hospital visits, and many more events. Since the award's inception in 2008, Anderson is the second Beaver to win the award following former teammate Max Engelbrekt, who earned the honor in 2017.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Eli Lingos, ASU; Erik Martinez, CAL; Kyle Kasser, ORE; Beau Branton, STAN; Jake Bird, UCLA; Tanner Thomas, UTAH; Levi Jordan, WASH; Collin Maier, WSU.