Skip to main content

2018 Pac-12 Football
Media Day

July 25 on Pac-12 Network
Hollywood & Highland | Hollywood, CA

Washington picked as Pac-12 favorite in preseason media poll

Jul 25, 2018
Otto Greule Jr./Getty

For Immediate Release // Wednesday, July 25, 2018
Contact // Dave Hirsch (, Heather Ward (

LOS ANGELES – WASHINGTON was chosen the favorite to win the 2018 Pac-12 Conference football title in a vote of 42 media members who cover Pac-12 football. The Huskies received 37 votes to earn the preseason nod over defending Pac-12 Champion USC. The Huskies garnered 40 first-place votes to hold down the top spot in the Pac-12 North Division, while USC tallied 22 first-place votes to edge out UTAH (14 first-place votes) to win the South Division.

Washington (249 points) was the overwhelming selection to capture the North Division ahead of STANFORD (198) and OREGON (178), which each picked up single votes to win the division.

The media expects the South Division to provide a competitive race with USC (225) topping Utah (209) and ARIZONA (178), which picked up three first-place votes. UCLA collected two votes, and COLORADO one vote, to represent the South Division in the Pac-12 Championship Game.

The media has correctly selected the Conference Champion in 30 of 57 previous polls, but only three times in the last 11 polls. Following are the results of the preseason media poll (points 6-5-4- 3-2-1, first-place votes in parentheses):

North Division South Division
School Points School Points
1. Washington (40) 249 1. USC (22) 225
2. Stanford (1) 198 2. Utah (14) 209
3. Oregon (1) 178 3. Arizona (3) 178
4. California 108 4. UCLA (2) 116
5. Washington State 98 5. Colorado (1) 80
6. Oregon State 45 6. Arizona State 72

PAC-12 TITLE GAME CHAMPION: Washington (37 votes)
Others receiving votes: USC (2), Oregon (1), Stanford (1), UCLA (1)

The 2018 Pac-12 Football Championship Game will take place Friday, Nov. 30 and will be telecast to a national audience on FOX at 5 p.m. PT. The Championship Game will match the winner of the North Division vs. the winner of the South Division at Levi’s® Stadium in Santa Clara, Calif.

Year Media Poll Pick Actual Finish Rose Bowl / CFP /
BCS Representatitve
Predicted Finish
1961 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1962 Washington 2nd USC 2nd
1963 USC 2nd Washington 2nd
1964 Washington 3rd Oregon State 6th
1965 USC 2nd UCLA 7th
1966 USC 1st USC 1st
1967 USC 1st USC 1st
1968 USC 1st USC 1st
1969 USC 1st USC 1st
1970 USC 6th Stanford 2nd
1971 USC 2nd Stanford 2nd
1972 USC 1st USC 1st
1973 USC 1st USC 1st
1974 USC 1st USC 1st
1975 USC 5th UCLA 3rd
1976 USC 1st USC 1st
1977 USC 2nd Washington 3rd
1978 USC 1st USC 1st
1979 USC 1st USC 1st
1980 USC 3rd Washington 3rd
1981 USC 2nd Washington 4th
1982 USC 3rd UCLA 3rd
1983 Arizona 5th UCLA 5th
1984 UCLA 3rd USC 3rd
1985 USC 4th UCLA 5th
1986 UCLA 2nd Arizona State 4th
1987 UCLA 2nd USC 4th
1988 UCLA 2nd USC 2nd
1989 USC 1st USC 1st
1990 Washington 1st Washington 1st
1991 Washington 1st Washington 1st
1992 Washington 1st Washington 1st
1993 Washington 4th UCLA 6th
1994 Arizona 2nd Oregon 8th
1995 USC 1st USC 1st
1996 USC 5th Arizona State 2nd
1997 Washington 4th Washington State 7th
1998 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1999 Arizona 6th Stanford 8th
2000 Washington 1st Washington 1st
2001 Oregon 1st Oregon 1st
2002 Washington State 1st Washington State 1st
2003 USC 1st USC 1st
2004 USC 1st USC 1st
2005 USC 1st USC 1st
2006 USC 1st USC 1st
2007 USC 1st USC 1st
2008 USC 1st USC 1st
2009 USC 5th Oregon 3rd
2010 Oregon 1st Oregon 1st
2011 Oregon (N)
not eligible
Oregon (N)*
UCLA (S FCG rep)
2012 Oregon (N)
tie - 1st
tie - 2nd
Stanford (N)*
2013 Oregon (N)
tie - 1st
tie - 2nd
Stanford (N)*
Arizona State (S)
2014 Oregon (N)
tie - 2nd
Oregon (N)*
Arizona (S)
2015 Oregon (N)
Stanford (N)*
2016 Stanford (N)
tie - 4th
Washington (N)*
Colorado (S)
2017 Washington (N)
Bold - Predicted FCG winner * - BCS / CFP / Rose Bowl participant