Pac-12 announces women's soccer All-Conference honors

Pac-12 Content Image
Bob Drebin/

PAC-12 FORWARD OF THE YEAR: Catarina Macario, Stanford
PAC-12 MIDFIELDER OF THE YEAR: Jordan DiBiasi, Stanford
PAC-12 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Penelope Hocking, USC
PAC-12 COACH OF THE YEAR: Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 Conference announced today the All-Pac-12 women’s soccer honors for the 2018 season, as determined by a polling of the Conference coaches. STANFORD’s Catarina Macario was voted Pac-12 Forward of the Year for a second-straight year and Stanford teammates Jordan DiBiasi was named Pac-12 Midfielder of the Year and Alana Cook was tabbed Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. USC’s Kaylie Collins was named Pac-12 Goalkeeper of the Year and fellow Trojan Penelope Hocking was voted Pac-12 Freshman of the Year. For the ninth time in the last 11 years, and the fourth-consecutive year, Stanford head coach Paul Ratcliffe was tabbed Pac-12 Coach of the Year. The All-Pac-12 and All-Freshman teams were also announced.

PAC-12 FORWARD OF THE YEAR – Catarina Macario, SO, Stanford
Catarina Macario, a San Diego, Calif., native, followed up a rookie season with another equally impressive sophomore campaign. Macario led the undefeated and Pac-12 Champion Cardinal with 12 goals, five of which were game winners, 29 points and 72 shots while adding five assists. The sophomore ranks 22nd in the country in game-winning goals (5) and 28th in total goals (12). She finished the regular season ranked second in the Conference in goals, shots and game-winning goals. Macario was named to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List earlier this season as well as the ESPNW Player of the Year Watch. While leading Stanford to the 2017 NCAA title, she claimed the Pac-12 Forward and Freshman of the Year and ESPNW Player of the Year.

PAC-12 MIDFIELDER OF THE YEAR – Jordan DiBiasi, SR, Stanford
Jordan DiBiasi (Highlands Ranch, Colo.) captained Stanford to its fourth-straight Pac-12 title with nine goals, a team-leading eight assists and 26 points in 19 games this season. Her stellar play in the midfield helped Stanford record its fourth undefeated regular season in program history, contributing to the second-best scoring offense in the country (2.68 goals per game). The Cardinal also led the Conference in goals (51), shots (437) and shots on goal (180). DiBiasi earned second team All-Pac-12 honors last season.

Alana Cook, a Far Hills, N.J., native, has been a model captain for the Cardinal for the past two seasons on and off the field. The senior was tabbed a Senior CLASS Award finalist and was named to the MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List this year after a national championship season in 2017. Cook led a backfield that has shutout 11 teams, and held opponents to just nine goals and 7.8 shots per game in an undefeated regular season. Stanford leads the Conference and ranks fifth in goals-against average (.457). Cook was named first team All-Pac-12 in 2017 and has twice been named to the second team during her career, as well as earning Pac-12 All-Freshman Team honors in 2015.

Kaylie Collins of Clayton, Calif., leads a Trojan defense that has been one of the hardest to score on throughout the season. Starting in all 19 games, Collins helped the Trojans shutout 13 opponents (fourth most in program history) which is the third-best shutout percentage in the country (.684), while her nine solo shutouts ranks first in the Pac-12 and 21st in the nation. The sophomore already ranks fourth on the program’s all-time shutout list (16). Collins has given up just 10 goals all season, ranking 16th in the nation in goals against average with .538 and second in the league. Collins was honored on the Pac-12 All-Freshman team last season.

PAC-12 FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Penelope Hocking, USC
Penelope Hocking, an Anaheim, Calif., native, has been one of the most dominant newcomers in the country and an offensive force for the Trojans. In just her first 18 games, Hocking leads the Conference with 13 goals and 32 points, and ranks 15th and 16th in the nation in those categories, respectively. She is the fifth player in program history to score at least 12 goals in a season and only the second freshman to do so. USC found the back of the net often with Hocking leading the offensive charge, as USC has the seventh-best scoring offense at 2.53 goals per game and the sixth-most points per game at 7.53. Hocking was named to the ESPNW Player of the Year Watch earlier this season.  

PAC-12 COACH OF THE YEAR: Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford
For the nine time in the last 11 years, head coach Paul Ratcliffe was voted Pac-12 Coach of the Year. Ratcliffe led the Defending NCAA Champion Cardinal to its fourth-straight Pac-12 title and 13th all-time. His squad earned a No. 1 seed in the NCAA Women’s Soccer Tournament for a third-straight year and are riding a 41-game unbeaten streak, the sixth-longest in NCAA Division I history.



Name Position Class School
Kaylie Collins GK R-So. USC
Alana Cook D Sr. Stanford
Savannah DeMelo MF R-So. USC
Jordan DiBiasi MF Sr. Stanford
Jessie Fleming MF Jr. UCLA
Taylor Kornieck MF Jr. Colorado
Catarina Macario F So. Stanford
Tegan McGrady D Sr. Stanford
Ally Prisock D Sr. USC
Leah Pruitt F Sr. USC
Ashley Sanchez F So. UCLA
Morgan Weaver F Jr. Washington State


Name Position Class School
Jorian Baucom F R-Sr. Colorado
Julia Bingham D Jr. USC
Jaye Boissiere MF R-Jr. Stanford
Madison Haley F So. Stanford
Maddy Haro D Sr. Washington State
Penelope Hocking F Fr. USC
Alison Jahansouz GK Sr. Stanford
Hailie Mace D Sr. UCLA
Kiki Pickett D So. Stanford
Sophia Smith F Fr. Stanford
Paola Van der Veen MF Sr. Utah
Viviana Villacorta MF So. UCLA


Name Position Class School
Lainey Burdett GK Sr. Arizona
Naomi Girma D Fr. Stanford
Abigail Kim F Jr. California
Tara McKeown MF So. USC
Maegan O'Neill MF Sr. Washington State
Amanda Porter MF So. Arizona
Anika Rodriguez F R-Jr. UCLA
Karina Rodriguez D So. UCLA
Delanie Sheehan D So. UCLA
Hailey Skolmoski D Sr. Utah
Jada Talley F So. Arizona
Jalen Tompkins GK R-Jr. Colorado


Name Position School
Lauren Brzykcy F UCLA
Nicole Douglas F Arizona State
Naomi Girma D Stanford
Zoe Hasenauer F Oregon
Penelope Hocking F USC
Emily Knous F/MF Arizona
Mykiaa Minniss D Washington State
Maricarmen Reyes MF UCLA
Marleen Schimmer F Arizona State
Sophia Smith F Stanford
Hailey Stodden D Utah
Summer Yates F Washington


Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network