2019 Pac-12 Swimming (W) & Diving (M/W) Championships

Feb. 27 - March 2 | Federal Way, WA

Stanford Completes Three-Peat at Pac-12 Women's Swimming and Diving & Men's Diving Championships

Results (PDF)

Federal Way, Wash – STANFORD captured its third-straight and 22nd overall women’s swimming and diving Conference title in dominant fashion at the 2019 Pac-12 Women’s Swimming and Diving and Men’s Diving Championships. The Cardinal claimed 20 podium finishes, including six Pac-12 titles, totaling 1,775 points. Stanford records the third-most points by a team at the Conference championships, following its own records set in 1992 (1804) and 2018 (1776.5). Stanford is the first school to win three consecutive Pac-12 Conference titles since Arizona from 2006-08. Stanford, the two-time defending NCAA Champion sets the tone for the 2019 NCAA Championships to be held March 20-23 in Austin, TX at the Lee & Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center.

1650-yard Freestyle
• Stanford opened the night with two finishes in the 1650-yard freestyle. Senior Leah Stevens won the race in the fourth fastest time in the country this year at 15:51.26. Stevens her first career Pac-12 title after placing second in the event last year.
• The Pac-12 Championship record holder, Arizona State’s Cierra Runge finished second at 15:51.72. Runge started to gain the lead with a final push, but Stevens’ final kick in the last 100-yards proved to be the difference.
• Cardinal freshman Morgan Tankersley rounded out the podium in a time of 15:59.98 for an NCAA B cut.

200-yard Backstroke
• Stanford swept the 200-yard backstroke in a riveting final as several Cardinal teammates were neck-and-neck coming out of the last turn. Senior Ella East prevailed with a time of 1:48.53 for Stanford’s first win in the event since 2012.
• A very close second place, Stanford’s Taylor Ruck, clocked in at 1:48.67. Entering the Pac-12 Championship, the freshman had posted the fastest time of any Pac-12 competitor during the regular season, which then- ranked seventh nationally.
• The program’s underclassmen continued to make waves as rookie Lucie Nordmann took home a bronze title with a 1:51.34 for an NCAA B qualifier. Following in fourth place was Stanford junior Erin Voss (1:51.43.)

100-yard Freestyle
• California made a quick turnaround and swept its second event of the championships after taking a one-two- three punch in the 200-yard freestyle yesterday.
• Senior Abbey Weitzeil broke the Pac-12 Championship record at 46.35. The Saugus, Calif. native clocked the fastest time in the country this year and won her third Pac-12 title of the meet with NCAA A qualifying time.
• Senior Amy Bilquist finished second with an NCAA A qualifying time of 47.01 and sophomore Robin Neumann took home third with a time of 47.78.

200-yard Breaststroke
• Stanford sophomore Grace Zhao won the race in a time of 2:07.07 for her first career Pac-12 title.
• USC senior Riley Scott took second with a time of 2:07.78, the international relations major records her second-straight silver finish in the event.
• Rounding out the top three was Arizona State’s Silja Kansakoski (2:08.01) for her second podium finish of the week.

200-yard Butterfly
• USC’s Louise Hansson had an incredible last 100-yards to take over the lead as the junior posted the fastest time in the country this year at 1:50.68 for her second Pac-12 title this week.
• Stanford placed second on the podium with junior Katie Drabot taking in a time of 1:51.42.
• Fellow Trojan Madison Wright, a senior studying cinema and media studies, finished third at 1:53.31.
• All three times were good enough for the NCAA A standard.

Women’s Platform
• Stanford reached the diving podium for the third and fourth time this meet. Sophomore Mia Paulsen won the final diving event of the 2019 Pac-12 Diving Championships as her score of 256.30 put her on the top of the podium for the Cardinals’ 14th all-time women’s platform title.
• USC’s Naomi Gowlett took second with a score of 252.30 after placing third at last year.
• Cardinal freshman Darla Lenz was third with a score of 242.20

400-yard Freestyle Relay
• In the final event of the Pac-12 Championships, California won the 400-yard freestyle relay with a new NCAA record time of 3:07.41 from the team of Robin Neumann, Katie McLaughlin, Amy Bilquist and Abbey Weitzeil.
• Stanford took second in a time of 3:10.43 led off by Taylor Ruck, Lauren Pitzer, Anya Goeders and Ella Eastin.
• USC’s team of Louise Hansson, Jemma Schlicht, Laticia Transom, and Marta Ciesla, took third in a time of 3:13.10
• All three times were NCAA A standard times.

The 2019 Pac-12 Men’s Diver of the Meet is Arizona State’s Youssef Selim.
The Cairo, Egypt native, won the 1-meter on the first day of competition with a score of 402.00. The junior then took fourth in the 3-meter with a score of 361.40. He rounded out his Pac-12 Championship competition with another Pac-12 title in the men’s platform with a score of 339.10. Congratulations to the 2019 Pac-12 Men’s Diver of the Meet, Arizona State’s Youssef Selim.

Team Scores Through Event 21
1. Stanford – 1775
2. California – 1352
3. USC -  1183.5
4. Arizona State – 932.5
5. Arizona - 837
5. UCLA - 835
7. Utah – 531.5
8. Washington State – 284.5
9. Oregon State – 172



Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network