Pac-12 Men’s Basketball to send three teams to 2019 NCAA Tournament

Stephen R. Sylvanie-USA TODAY Sports

NCAA Tournament bracket | National Invitation Tournament bracket

SAN FRANCISCO – Three Pac-12 men’s basketball programs earned bids for the 2019 NCAA Tournament on Selection Sunday with ARIZONA STATE, OREGON and WASHINGTON chosen to represent the league in March Madness. Additionally, COLORADO was selected for the 2019 National Invitation Tournament.

OREGON (23-12) earned the Pac-12’s automatic NCAA Tournament berth on Saturday after defeating Washington, 68-48, in the Pac-12 Tournament championship game. The South Region No. 12 seed Ducks, who are making their 16th all-time tourney appearance, will face No. 5 seed Wisconsin in San Jose, Calif., on Friday, March 22 at approximately 1:30 p.m. PT. Oregon is making its sixth NCAA trip in the last seven seasons, all under coach Dana Altman, including its first since advancing to the 2017 NCAA Final Four in Phoenix. It is Altman’s 14th career trip to the NCAAs.

ARIZONA STATE (22-10), the West Region’s No. 11 seed, earned one of the last four at-large berths and will open against St. John’s in the First Four on Wednesday, March 20 at 6:10 p.m. PT. The winner advances to play No. 6 seed Buffalo in Tulsa, Okla., on Friday, March 22 at approximately 1 p.m. PT. It marks the Sun Devils’ 16th all-time NCAA appearance, including their first in back-to-back years since 1980-81, and the third of Bobby Hurley’s six-year head coaching career after he took the Bulls to the 2015 NCAA Tournament.

Pac-12 regular-season champions WASHINGTON (26-8), the Midwest Region’s No. 9 seed, received an at-large bid and will begin against No. 8 seed Utah State in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 22 at 3:50 p.m. PT. It is the 17th all-time appearance for the Huskies, first since 2011, and the first for second-year head coach Mike Hopkins.

The teams will be competing for a trip to the 2019 NCAA Final Four hosted at U.S. Bank Stadium in Minneapolis, Minn., April 6 and 8.

No. 4 seed COLORADO (21-12) will host No. 5 Dayton in the first round of the NIT on Tuesday, March 19 at 8 p.m. PT/9 p.m. MT on ESPN2. It marks the Buffaloes’ 11th all-time NIT appearance and the program’s eighth postseason appearance in nine seasons under coach Tad Boyle.

2019 NCAA Tournament
Wednesday, March 20
No. 11 Arizona State vs. No. 11 St. John’s – Dayton, Ohio – 6:10 p.m. PT/9:10 p.m. ET, truTV

Friday, March 22
No. 9 Washington vs. No. 8 Utah State – Columbus, Ohio – 3:50 p.m. PT/6:50 p.m. ET – TNT
No. 12 Oregon vs. No. 5 Wisconsin – San Jose, Calif. – approx. 1:30 p.m. PT/4:30 p.m. ET – TBS
No. 11 Arizona State vs. No. 6 Buffalo – Tulsa, Okla. – approx. 1 p.m. PT/3 p.m. CT – TNT (if advances)

2019 National Invitation Tournament
Tuesday, March 19
No. 4 Colorado vs. No. 5 Dayton – 8 p.m. PT/9 p.m. MT, ESPN2

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder
Close