Postseason begins for seven Pac-12 women's basketball teams

Pac-12 Content Image

 

Complete ReleaseNCAA Bracket | WNIT BracketMedia Guide

• Six Pac-12 teams are headed to the NCAA Tournament, marking the sixth-consecutive year the Conference is sending at least five teams to the Big Dance, and one more is participating in the WNIT this week. OREGON, OREGON STATE and STANFORD each received a top-16 seed, earning the right to host a first- and second-round game.

• Pac-12 regular-season champion Oregon earned a No. 2 seed in the Portland Regional, equalling its best-ever seeding. League tournament champion Stanford is the No. 2 seed in the Chicago Regional and is making its 32nd-consecutive appearance and 33rd all-time. Oregon State is the No. 4 seed in the Albany Regional, extending its NCAA Tournament appearance streak to six-consecutive years, a program record.

• Joining the trio in the NCAA Tournament are No. 5-seed ARIZONA STATE, No. 8 seed CALIFORNIA and No. 6 seed UCLA, who will each hit the road for their postseason openers. ASU is also making a sixth-straight NCAA Tournament appearance, Cal is making its seventh appearance in the last eight years and UCLA is in the tournament for the fourth year in a row.

• Rounding out the Pac-12’s postseason teams is ARIZONA, who was invited to participate in the WNIT. The Wildcats host a postseason game for the first time since 2001, taking on Idaho State on Thursday.

• Pac-12 teams have seen plenty of postseason success in recent years, winning the most NCAA Tournament games (41) of any conference and posting the best winning percentage (.695) of any Power 5 conference over the last three years. Pac-12 teams have gone 17-1 in the first round during that span, placing at least four teams in the Sweet 16 for the third-consecutive year in 2018.

• For the first time ever, five teams appear in the Associated Press final poll. The writers’ ranked the Cardinal and the Ducks at Nos. 6 and 7, respectively, extending the Conference’s streak with two top-10 ranked teams in the final poll to five-consecutive years. The Beavs are No. 11 for their fifth-straight top-15 final AP ranking and ASU appears in the final poll for the first time since 2016. UCLA was ranked for the first time this season on Feb. 26 and ends at No. 20, the fourth-straight year the Bruins are in the final top 25. Five teams also appear in the USA Today/WBCA Coaches poll

• Seven from the Pac-12 were named finalists for the Naismith Starting 5, which was announced last week, with at least one from the Pac-12 listed at each position. It is the most combined finalists for any conference. The Nancy Lieberman Award (Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon State’s Destiny Slocum) and Katrina McClain Award (Oregon’s Ruthy Hebard, Stanford’s Alanna Smith) each had two Pac-12 finalists.

ALBANY REGIONAL
Saturday, March 23 • First Round (Corvallis, Ore.)
#5 Gonzaga (28-4) vs. #12 Little Rock (21-10), 12:30 p.m. PT/3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#4 OREGON STATE (24-7) vs. #13 Boise State (28-4), 2:30 p.m. PT/5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Monday, March 25 • Second Round (Corvallis, Ore.)
First round game winners, TBA

Saturday, March 23 • First Round (College Park, Md.)
#3 Maryland (28-4) vs. #14 Radford (26-6), 10 a.m. PT/1 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#6 UCLA (20-12) vs. #11 Tennessee (19-12), 12 9.m. PT/3 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Monday, March 25 • Second Round (College Park, Md.)
First round game winners, TBA

CHICAGO REGIONAL
Saturday, March 23 • First Round (Stanford, Calif.)
#7 BYU (25-6) vs. #10 Auburn (22-9), 12:30 p.m. PT/3:30 p.m ET (ESPN2)
#2 STANFORD (28-4) vs. #15 UC Davis (25-6), 3 p.m. PT/6 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Sunday, March 25 • Second Round (Stanford, Calif.)
First round game winners, TBA

GREENSBORO REGIONAL
Saturday, March 23 • First Round (Waco, Texas)
#8 CALIFORNIA (19-12) vs. #9 North Carolina (18-14), 12:30 p.m. PT/3:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#1 Baylor (31-1) vs. #16 Abilene Christian (23-9), 2:30 p.m. PT/5:30 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Monday, March 25 • Second Round (Waco, Texas)
First round game winners, TBA

PORTLAND REGIONAL
Friday, March 22 • First Round (Eugene, Ore.)
#7 Texas (23-9) vs. #10 Indiana (20-12), 4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#2 OREGON (29-4) vs. #15 Portland State (25-7), 6 p.m. PT/9 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Sunday, March 24 • Second Round (Eugene, Ore.)
First round game winners, TBA

Friday, March 22 • First Round (Coral Gables, Fla.)
#5 Arizona State (20-10) vs.  #12 Central Florida (26-6), 4 p.m. PT/7 p.m. ET (ESPN2)
#4 Miami (Fla.) (24-8) vs. #13 FGCU (28-4), 6 9.m. PT/9 p.m. ET (ESPN2)

Sunday, March 24 • Second Round (Coral Gables, Fla.)
First round game winners, TBA

2018-19 PAC-12 WOMEN'S BASKETBALL PLAYERS OF THE WEEK

  Player of the Week Freshman of the Week
Nov. 12 Kristine Anigwe, CAL Dre’Una Edwards, UTAH
Nov. 19 Aari McDonald, ARIZ Dre’Una Edwards, UTAH
Nov. 26 Kristine Anigwe, CAL Cate Reese, ARIZ
Dec. 3 Aari McDonald, ARIZ Peanut Tuitele, COLO
Dec. 10 Megan Huff, UTAH Dru Gylten, UTAH
Dec. 17 Alanna Smith, STAN Dre’Una Edwards, UTAH
Dec. 24 Sabrina Ionescu, ORE Lacie Hull, STAN
Dec. 31 Borislava Hristova, WSU Andrea Torres, UTAH
Jan. 7  Aari McDonald, ARIZ Dru Gylten, UTAH
Jan. 14 Alanna Smith, STAN Dre’Una Edwards, UTAH
Jan. 21 Kristine Anigwe, CAL Cate Reese, ARIZ
Jan. 28 Megan Huff, UTAH  Cate Reese, ARIZ
Feb. 4 Kristine Anigwe, CAL Shalexxus Aaron, USC
Feb. 11 Sabrina Ionescu, ORE Dre’Una Edwards, UTAH
Feb. 18  Alanna Smith, STAN Dre'Una Edwards, UTAH
Feb. 25 Recee Caldwell, CAL  McKenzie Forbes, CAL
March 4 Kristine Anigwe, CAL Lexie Hull, STAN
Now on Pac-12 Network
Live
3:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network