Skip to main content

USC’s Suh named Pac-12 Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year

Apr 19, 2019

SAN FRANCISCO – USC’s Justin Suh was named the Pac-12 Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2018-19 season, the Conference office announced today. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Suh, currently the No. 1 ranked amateur in the world (according to the World Amateur Golf Ranking), becomes the first Trojan to be named Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year for men’s golf. He carries a 3.24 grade point average as a Business Administration major and has twice earned Pac-12 All-Academic Honorable Mention. A three-year letterman, Suh was tabbed Pac-12 Golfer of the Year in 2017-18 as he established USC season records for wins (five), stroke average (68.73), and rounds under 70 (21).

Suh, who hails from San Jose, Calif., earned All-America honors as a freshman (honorable mention), sophomore (third team) and junior (first team). During his career, he’s played in 44 events and recorded eight career wins. In 133 rounds, he’s posted a score of 69 or better 60 times.

Currently with a 68.79 stroke average, Suh will lead No. 7 USC at the Pac-12 Men’s Golf Championship Monday, April 22 – Wednesday, April 24 at Eugene Country Club, Eugene, Ore. Pac-12 Networks will provide final round coverage of the championships Wednesday, April 24 at 2 p.m. PT.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling.

Also Nominated: Ethan Marcus, Arizona (3.30, General Studies: Economy and Industry); Collin Morikawa, California (3.24, Business Administration); Wilson Belk, Colorado (3.65, Integrative Physiology); Edwin Yi, Oregon (3.22, General Social Science); Trevor Yu, Oregon State (3.54, Digital Communications Art); Brandon Wu, Stanford (3.38, Product Design); Cole Madey, UCLA (3.08, Economics); AJ Armstrong, Washington State (3.82, Accounting).

Pac-12 Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year:
2019 – Justin Suh, USC
2018 – Souza, Colorado
2017 – Maverick McNealy, Stanford
2016 – Jonathan Sanders, Washington
2015 – Alex McMahon, Arizona
2014 – Brandon Hagy, California
2013 – Andrew Yun, Stanford
2012 – Jonnie Motomochi, Oregon State
2011 – Jack Dukeminier, Oregon
2010 – Knut Borsheim, Arizona State
2009 – Alex Williams, Oregon State
2008 – Rob Grube, Stanford