USC, UCLA top-two seeds at NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship

Pac-12 Content Image
John McGillen/Pac-12 Conference

• NCAA Bracket: Interactive | PDF

SAN FRANCISCO - For the fourth year in a row, USC and UCLA are headed to the NCAA Beach Volleyball Championship, the NCAA Beach Volleyball Committee announced today. The Trojans are the overall No. 1 seed and the Bruins are the No. 2 seed. The eight-team field has featured at least two Pac-12 teams every year since the national championship began in 2016.

The Trojans nab the top seed for the second time ever, earning the No. 1 seed in 2017 when it won their second-straight crown. USC won the first-ever NCAA title in 2016. The second-seeded Bruins are the defending NCAA Champion, winning its first-ever national championship last season as the No. 1 overall seed. UCLA was the No. 2 seed in 2017.

The Trojans won their third Pac-12 Championship in four years on Saturday, upsetting Bruins in the championship dual, 3-2. It was USC’s second win over UCLA in the championship, both duals decided in the third set of the fifth match. USC enters the national championship with a 28-4 overall record while the Bruins, who were ranked No. 1 in the country all season, are 31-3 with their only losses coming against the Trojans.

The field was selected from the 75 NCAA institutions sponsoring the sport of beach volleyball. Three teams were selected from the east region and three teams were selected from the west region. The remaining two teams were selected at-large from the teams across the country. All eight teams were then seeded.

The finalists selected from the east region include, Florida State, LSU and Stetson. Pepperdine, USC and UCLA made up the west region selections; while Cal Poly and Hawaii were granted at-large bids.

The committee then seeded all eight teams nationally. The seeds in order are as follows:

1. USC
3. Florida State
4. Pepperdine
5. LSU
6. Cal Poly
7. Hawai’i
8. Stetson

The championship will be held Friday through Sunday, May 3-5, in Gulf Shores, Ala., hosted by the City of Gulf Shores, University of Alabama at Birmingham and Orange Beach Sports Commission. The event will be televised live by ESPN networks, with ESPNU providing live coverage on Friday, May 3 starting at 10 a.m. ET. Live coverage will continue Saturday, May 4 on ESPN2, starting at 2 p.m. ET and Sunday, May 5 at 10:30 a.m. ET on ESPN2. The championship dual airs on ESPN Sunday, May 5, at 2 p.m. ET. Additionally, live streaming coverage of every court throughout the tournament will be available on ESPN3.

All championship site match times and more information about the championship, log on to

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network