2019 Pac-12 Men's Golf Championships

Event: April 22-24 | Eugene, OR
Eugene Country Club

Pac-12 announces 2019 men's golf postseason awards

Pac-12 Content Image

SAN FRANCISCOCollin Morikawa of CALIFORNIA was named the Pac-12 Men’s Golfer of the Year, ARIZONA STATE’s Cameron Sisk was named the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year, and Arizona State coach Matt Thurmond was tabbed Pac-12 Coach of the Year in a voting by the Pac-12 men’s golf coaches. In addition, the 2019 All-Pac-12 Men’s Golf Team as selected by the coaches was announced.

Morikawa, who hails from La Cañada Flintridge, Calif., is just the second recipient of the Conference’s Golfer of the Year honor in school history, joining Michael Kim (2013). He posted top five finishes in nine of 10 events, including a pair of victories – The Farms Invitational (-13) and the Pac-12 Championship (-12). Morikawa is a semifinalist for the Hogan Award, given annually to the nation’s top collegiate golfer. Of his 31 rounds played this season, he has 24 rounds of 70 or better. He’s currently second in Golfstat and third in Golfweek/Sagarin. Morikawa boasts a 68.39 scoring averaging on the course and a 3.24 grade point average in the classroom as a business administration major.

Sisk, from San Diego, Calif., picked up Pac-12 Freshman of the Year honors, becoming the third Sun Devil to earn the award (Alejandro Canizares, 2003 and Jon Rahm, 2013). Sisk posted six top 20 finishes, including a victory at the Sonoran Showdown (-13). He also nabbed a tie for fifth in a field of 80 at the Arizona Intercollegiate (-9). Sisk has a 70.96 stroke average over 10 events. He finished tied for 23rd at the Pac-12 Championships where he posted a score of 6-over.

Thurmond, earns his third Pac-12 Coach of the Year honor, but first at the helm of the Arizona State Sun Devils. Tabbed Coach of the Year while at Washington in 2005 and 2009, he becomes the fifth different Arizona State coach to have earned the honor. Led the Sun Devils to a second-place finish in nine of 11 events, including wins in four of the last five tournaments (John Burns Collegiate, Lamkin Grips Collegiate, National Invitational Tournament, ASU Thunderbird Invitational). The Sun Devils achieved a ranking as high as No. 2 this season and enter the postseason currently ranked No. 3 by Golfweek. Under Thurmond’s guidance, a pair of Sun Devils earned first team all-conference honors, another pair landed on second team all-conference, while Sisk claimed Freshman of the Year.

The Pac-12 golf awards and the All-Pac-12 Team are voted on by the Conference head golf coaches.  Following is the complete list of honors.

All-Pac-12 First Team

Name School Year Hometown
Chun An Yu Arizona State Jr. Taoyuan, Taiwan
Mason Andersen Arizona State So. Chandler, Ariz.
Sebastian Crampton California RSr. Pacific Grove, Calif.
Collin Morikawa California Sr. La Cañada Flintridge, Calif.
Kaito Onishi USC So. Bradenton, Fla.
Isaiah Salinda Stanford Sr. South San Francisco, Calif.
Justin Suh USC Sr. San Jose, Calif.
Brandon Wu Stanford Sr. Danville, Calif.

All-Pac-12 Second Team

Name School Year Hometown
Alex del Rey Arizona State Jr. Madrid, Spain
Kyler Dunkle Utah Sr. Larkspur, Colo.
KK Limbhasut California RSr. Loma Linda, Calif.
Cole Madey UCLA Sr. West Linn, Ore.
David Snyder Stanford Jr. McAllen, Texas
Blake Wagoner Arizona State Jr. Cornelius, N.C.
Trevor Werbylo Arizona So. Tucson, Ariz.
Edwin Yi Oregon Sr. Beaumont, Calif.

Honorable Mention: Devon Bling, So., UCLA; Ryan Gronlund, RSr., Oregon; Eddy Lai, So., UCLA; Issei Tanabe, So., USC; Daulet Tuleubayev, Fr., Stanford; Spencer Tibbits, So., Oregon State.

Pac-12 All-Freshman Team

Name School   Hometown
Yin Ho Yue Oregon   Hong Kong, China
Sean Kato Oregon State   Redmond, Wash.
Sean Maruyama UCLA   Encino, Calif.
Cameron Sisk Arizona State   San Diego, Calif.
James Song California   Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.

Honorable Mention: Charlie Reiter, USC; Craig Ronne, ORE; Daulet Tulebayev, Stanford

Pac-12 Player of the Year: Collin Morikawa, California

Pac-12 Freshman of the Year: Cameron Sisk, Arizona State

Pac-12 Coach of the Year: Matt Thurmond, Arizona State

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network