Skip to main content
Official Site of the Pac-12 Conference and Pac-12 Network

Pac-12 announces beach volleyball awards

May 2, 2019
John McGillen/Pac-12 Conference

SAN FRANCISCO - USC sophomore Tina Graudina was voted Pac-12 Beach Volleyball Player of the Year and is part of the duo that was voted Pac-12 Pair of the Year, teaming up with senior Abril Bustamante, the Conference office announced today. CALIFORNIA’s Jordan Polo was voted the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year while USC’s Anna Collier was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year for the first time.

Graudina (Jurmala, Latvia) and Bustamante (Redondo Beach, Calif.) are the top-ranked pair in the country, posting a 30-2 record for a nation’s-best 93.8 winning percentage heading into the NCAA Championship. The duo helped the Trojans to a third Pac-12 crown in four years, going 4-0 at the championship last week. Having been paired since last season, they have won 61 matches with only four losses, which ranks fourth all-time in USC history. They were each tabbed AVCA All-Americans last season and have been named to the Pac-12 All-Tournament team as a pair in each of the last two seasons. The duo is the third pair in four years to win the Conference’s pair of the year honor and Graudina, who was named Pac-12 Freshman of the Year last year, is the third Trojan in four years to earn the top individual honor.

Polo (Danville, Calif.) posted a 15-9 record at the No. 1 position and 17-10 overall, making her collegiate debut with four-consecutive wins at No. 1. She defeated eight pairs from top-20 ranked teams, helping the Bears earn their first top-10 AVCA national ranking heading into the Pac-12 Championship, ranking as high as No. 7 in the DiG Magazine poll. Polo was the only freshman on the Cal squad that saw regular playing time. Polo is the first Golden Bear to win the Conference’s freshman honor.

USC’s Collier was voted the Pac-12 Coach of the Year for the first time by her colleagues after she led the Trojans to a third Pac-12 title in four years of the championship The Trojans went 4-0, upsetting then-No. 1 UCLA twice to win the crown. The Trojans compete at the NCAA Championship this week for the fourth year in a row, earning the No. 1 overall seed for the second time in in three years. USC is looking to capture its third NCAA crown.

The coaches also voted on the All-Pac-12 team and All-Freshman team, which are listed below. The All-Pac-12 team is comprised of 10 student-athletes on the first team and 10 on the second team. Five student-athletes are also named to the All-Freshman team.

USC and UCLA represent the Pac-12 at the NCAA Championship which begins tomorrow, Friday, May 3. The double-elimination tournament features an eight-team field and goes through Sunday, May 5. The Bruins are the defending champion and the No. 2 seed. The third year of the national championship, the Trojans won the title in 2016 and 2017, with the Bruins winning the 2018 crown coming out of the elimination bracket. Every dual of the championship will be televised on the ESPN Network with individual court coverage streaming live on ESPN3.

Pac-12 Player of the Year: Tina Graudina, USC
Pac-12 Freshman of the Year: Jordan Polo, CAL
Pac-12 Pair of the Year: Tina Graudina and Abril Bustamante, USC
Pac-12 Coach of the Year: Anna Collier, USC

All-Pac-12 Team

First Team      
Abril Bustamante USC Sr. Redondo Beach, Calif.
Terese Cannon USC Gr. Pittsford, N.Y.
Tina Graudina USC So. Jurmala, Latvia
Lily Justine UCLA Jr. Chico, Calif.
Megan McNamara UCLA Sr. Vancouver, Canada
Nicole McNamara UCLA Sr. Vancouver, Canada
Sarah Sponcil UCLA Sr. Phoenix, Calif.
Mima Mirkovic California So. Irvine, Calif.
Oluoma Okaro Arizona State Sr. Lakewood, Calif.
Sammy Slater USC So. Ventura, Calif.
Second Team      
Dani Drews Utah Jr. Sandy, Utah
Charlie Ekstrom Stanford Fr. San Diego, Calif.
Olivia Hallaran Arizona Jr. Mesa, Ariz.
Haley Hallgren USC So. Southlake, Texas
Destiny Julye Washington Sr. Tehachapi, Calif.
Mia Mason Arizona Sr. Manhattan Beach, Calif.
Alexandra Poletto USC Gr. Toronto, Canada
Jordan Polo California Fr. Danville, Calif.
Caroline Schafer California So. Orinda, Calif.
Ashley Wenz Arizona State Gr. Dayton, Ohio

All-Freshman Team

Mollie Ebertin USC Saratoga, Calif.
Charlie Ekstrom Stanford San Diego, Calif.
Jordan Polo California Danville, Calif.
Lindsey Sparks UCLA Huntington Beach, Calif.
Abby Van Winkle UCLA San Clemente, Calif.