Skip to main content

Pac-12 announces 2019 rowing Scholar-Athletes Of The Year

May 16, 2019

SAN FRANCISCO – CALIFORNIA’s Maarten Hurkmans was named the Pac-12 Men's Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year and Paige Danielson of WASHINGTON STATE was tabbed the Pac-12 Women's Rowing Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2019 season, the Conference office announced today. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes who are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Hurkmans, originally from Amersfoort, Netherlands, owns a 3.64 grade-point average studying business administration at the Haas School of Business. He is a two-time IRA and Pac-12 All-Academic selection. Hurkmans is the second-straight and second all-time Golden Bear to earn the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor for rowing. He has been a member of Cal’s varsity eight since his freshman season, helping the Golden Bears to Pac-12 and IRA Championships in 2016. His sophomore year, he was an All-Pac-12 selection after leading Cal to an undefeated regular season, placing second at the Pac-12 Championships and fourth at the IRA Championships. This season, Hurkmans’ V8 boat has won seven races, including its last two over Pac-12 rivals Oregon State and Stanford, and looks to claim Cal’s first Pac-12 title since 2016. In international waters, Hurkmans is a two-time gold medalist in the eight at the Under-23 World Rowing Championships, competing for his home country of the Netherlands. He also helped the eight to silver at the 2019 European Championships and a pair of bronze medals at the 2018 World Rowing Cup II and III last summer.

Danielson, a native of St. Cloud, Minn., boasts a 4.0 grade-point average studying electrical engineering at Washington State. She is a two-time first team Pac-12 All-Academic, CRCA Scholar-Athlete and CoSIDA Academic All-District honoree. She is also a two-time NCAA Elite 90 Award winner, given to the student-athlete with the highest GPA at each NCAA Championships site. Danielson is a member of Tau Beta Pi, the engineering honors society, and is the Honors Student Advisory Council president. She has worked as a research assistant for the Systems on Chips Lab, and as a hydropower intern for the US Army Corps of Engineers at the Lower Granite Lock and Dam the last two years. She plans to pursue her Ph.D. in electrical engineering at the University of Colorado next fall. Danielson also finds the time to give back to the Pullman community as a volunteer for Coug Pals, an organization that pairs WSU student-athletes with children from local elementary schools to be pen pals. Her athletic accomplishments have been just as impressive, as she has led the Cougars to NCAA top-14 finishes each of the last three seasons. Danielson is a former walk-on who worked her way up to row with the varsity four as a freshman and with the varsity eight from her sophomore year on. She is now the only senior rower on this season’s varsity eight boat. She is the third Cougar to earn Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors since the award was established in 2007-08.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year.

Hurkmans, Danielson and the rest of the Pac-12 compete this Sunday, May 19 at the 2019 Pac-12 Men’s and Women’s Rowing Championships at Lake Natoma in Gold River, Calif. A broadcast of the championship events will be tape delayed into two 30-minute shows on Pac-12 Networks on Wednesday, May 22 starting with the men’s championship at 7 p.m. PT and the women’s championship at 7:30 p.m. PT Full Championship details are available at

ALSO NOMINATED MEN: Hunter Smith; OREGON STATE; Isabelle Morris, STANFORD; Matthew Horner, UCLA; Madison Molitor, WASHINGTON.

ALSO NOMINATED WOMEN: Dana Moffat, CALIFORNIA; Eliza Adams, OREGON STATE; Devin Norder, STANFORD; Lanea Tuiasosopo, UCLA; Krete Koovit, USC; Calina Schanze, WASHINGTON.


Year Men’s Women’s
2018-19 Maarten Hurkmans, California Paige Danielson, Washington State
2017-18 Natan Wegrycki-Szymczyk, California Ida Gortz Jacobsen, USC
2016-17 Brendan Larkin, Stanford Mihaela-Teodora Berindei, Washington State
2015-16 Landon Alecxih, Stanford Kendall Chase, California
2014-15 Kaess Smit, Stanford Naomi Cornman, Stanford
2013-14 Austin Hack, Stanford Ali Fauci, Stanford
2012-13 Seamus Labrum, Washington Katie Dick, Washington State
2011-12 Sam Ojserkis, Washington Marielle Higgins, Stanford
2010-11 Alex Syverson, Stanford Erika Roddy, Stanford
2009-10 Simon Taylor, Washington Christina Sprouse, UCLA
2008-09 Mark Murphy, Stanford Robin Hextrum, USC
2007-08 Justin Wagner, Oregon State Kaylie Towne, Oregon State