Skip to main content

Stanford’s Lee named Pac-12 Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year

May 24, 2019

SAN FRANCISCO—Stanford’s Carolyn Lee was named the Pac-12 Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2019 season, the Conference office announced today. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Lee, a senior from San Ramon, Calif., carries a 3.94 grade point average in mechanical engineering and earned All-Pac-12 Third Team honors this season. Lee collected her second All-Conference nod after being named to the Pac-12 All-Freshman Team in 2016 and is a three-time Pac-12 All-Academic First Team recipient (2017-2019). In addition to her Conference accolades, Lee is a 2019 NFCA All-Region honoree, a two-time Easton/NFCA NCAA Scholar-Athlete (2017, 2018) honoree and was tabbed CoSIDA Academic All-District in 2018.

Lee guided Stanford to its 17th all-time NCAA appearance and first since 2013 where she earned a victory over Boston University (13-2) in the Gainesville Regional. She finished her senior campaign tied with a team-best 12 wins, marking her single-season career-high. She ranks 11th in the Pac-12 in ERA (3.34) while making the second-most starts (30), accompanied with the sixth-most innings pitched (157.1). She led the Cardinal in strikeouts (108) and moved into seventh in program history with 333 career strikeouts, while her 558.2 career innings pitched ranks sixth after making 126 appearances during her time on The Farm. Lee is the second Stanford student-athlete to be honored with the award (Bessie Noll, 2017) in softball.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50% of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling.

Also Nominated: Tamara Statman, ARIZ; Morgan Howe, ASU; Cherish Burks, ORE; Kayleen Shafer, OSU; Taylor Pack, UCLA; Ally Dickman, UTAH; Amirah Milloy, WASH.

Pac-12 Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year
2019 – Carolyn Lee, Stanford
2018 – Katie Donovan, Utah
2017 – Bessie Noll, Stanford
2016 – Cheridan Hawkins, Oregon
2015 – Amber Freeman, Arizona State
2014 – Kelsey Rodriques, Arizona
2013 – Lindsey Ziegenhirt, California
2012 – Katelyn Boyd, Arizona State
2011 – Lesley Rogers, Arizona State
2010 – K'Lee Arrendondo, Arizona
2009 – Jessica Mapes, Arizona State
2008 – Jackie Vasquez, Arizona State