Skip to main content

This year in Pac-12 women's lacrosse

Jun 3, 2019

Complete Release (PDF)

In the second season of Pac-12 women’s lacrosse, three teams advanced to the NCAA Tournament. Pac-12 regular-season champion USC won the 2019 Pac-12 Tournament and earned the league’s automatic bid, while COLORADO and STANFORD earned at-large bids in the 28-team field. The three berths established a new record for the six-team league and trailed only the ACC (5) and Big Ten (4).

USC won the Pac-12 regular-season title with a near perfect 9-1 league mark and went on to win the second-ever Pac-12 Tournament in Eugene, Ore., after outscoring No. 4 seed California and No. 2 seed Colorado by a combined score of 28-8. Trojans’ back-to-back Pac-12 Midfielder of the Year, Kerrigan Miller, led the league in caused turnovers (41) and caused turnovers per game (2.05) for the second-straight season while teammate Jackie Gilbert was voted Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. USC made its fourth NCAA Tournament appearance in the last five years and dropped a hard-fought overtime decision to Denver, 11-10, in the first round.

Colorado earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament for its third-straight appearance after advancing to the Pac-12 Women’s Lacrosse Tournament championship game each of the past two seasons. The Buffs were the last Pac-12 team remaining in the tournament after defeating No. 18 Dartmouth, 16-13, in the opening round before falling to No. 2 seed Boston College, 21-9.

Stanford made its ninth all-time NCAA appearance in its 25 years as a program with head coach Amy Bokker leading the Cardinal to eight bids during her 11 years at the helm. Stanford’s postseason run ended at the hands of Notre Dame, 15-9, in the opening match. The Cardinal was led by a league-best six All-Pac-12 members, including a pair of first team honorees in Ali Baiocco and Julia Massaro.

 CALIFORNIA earned the No. 4 seed in the Pac-12 Tournament after going 3-7 in Conference action and posting a 7-12 overall mark. In only its second season as a varsity program, ARIZONA STATE went 2-8 in Conference play and 6-12 overall, facing six top-25 opponents this year. Oregon finished with a 3-15 overall record and Rachel Hall led the nation with 246 saves in her rookie season, an astounding 29-saves margin over the second-ranked goalkeeper in the category.

Three teams are ranked in the final IWLCA poll for the second consecutive season and second time ever with No. 13 USC, No. 21 Colorado and No. 23 Stanford.

The 2019 Pac-12 Women’s Lacrosse yearly awards, as voted on by the league coaches named Colorado’s Miranda Stinson the Pac-12 Attacker of the Year. USC’s Kerrigan Miller repeated as Pac-12 Midfielder of the Year and Trojans’ teammate Jackie Gilbert earned Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year. Oregon goalkeeper Rachel Hall was tabbed Pac-12 Freshman of the Year. USC head coach Lindsey Munday was selected Coach of the Year.


Teams Pac-12 Record Overall Record
USC 9-1 16-4
Colorado 8-2 11-8
Stanford 7-3 13-6
California 3-7 7-12
Arizona State 2-8 6-12
Oregon 1-9 3-15


  Offensive Player of the Week Defensive Player of the Week
Feb. 11 Shannon Williams, ORE Kaylon Buckner, ASU
Feb. 18 Miranda Stinson, COLO Eliza Cahill, COLO
Feb. 25 Emily Concialdi, USC Trudie Grattan, STAN
March 4 Ali Baiocco, STAN Trudie Grattan, STAN
March 11 Miranda Stinson, COLO Kerrigan Miller, USC
March 18 Sophia Donovan, USC Riley Hertford, USC
March 25 Miranda Stinson, COLO Trudie Grattan, STAN
April 1 Kelsey Huff, USC Riley Hertford, USC
April 8 Kerri Clayton, ASU Jackie Gilbert, USC
April 15 Ali Baiocco, STAN Julia Massaro, STAN
April 22 Jackie Gilbert, USC