Nine Pac-12 Cross Country teams earn 2019 NCAA Championships berths

Pac-12 Content Image

NCAA Championships selections announcement

SAN FRANCISCO – Nine Pac-12 programs as well as three individuals earned berths in the 2019 NCAA Cross Country Championships field as unveiled on the NCAA selection show Saturday afternoon. No. 2 nationally ranked and Pac-12 and NCAA West Region champion STANFORD headlined the five women’s teams selected, while No. 3 ranked and Pac-12 champion COLORADO led four men’s teams to qualify.

Indiana State will host the NCAA Championships on Saturday, Nov. 23, at the Lavern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course in Terre Haute, Ind., with the Pac-12 seeking to add to its national-best totals of 29 combined team crowns and 29 combined individual titles. The women's 6K race will begin at 11:15am ET/8:15am PT, while the men’s 10K race starts at 12:15pm ET/9:15am PT. Coverage of the championships will be available to FloTrack Pro subscribers.

No. 2 Stanford (Auto – 1st NCAA West Regional; 32nd NCAA appearance, 27th consecutive)
No. 4 Washington (Auto – 2nd NCAA West Regional; 26th NCAA appearance, 13th consecutive)
No. 8 Colorado (At-Large – 4th NCAA Mountain Regional; 29th NCAA appearance, 11th consecutive)
No. 9 Utah (At-Large – 5th NCAA Mountain Regional; third NCAA appearance)
No. 19 Oregon (At-Large – 4th NCAA West Regional; 31st NCAA appearance, 13th consecutive)
Christina Rice, UCLA (Individual – 8th NCAA West Regional)

It marks the ninth consecutive year at least five Pac-12 women’s programs advanced to compete at the NCAA Championships, the longest such streak in the country.

The Conference will be seeking its 14th all-time women’s team champion following Colorado’s national title last fall, as well as its fifth women’s individual titlist after Dani Jones claimed last year’s crown.

No. 3 Colorado (Auto – 2nd NCAA Mountain Regional; 49th NCAA appearance, 28th consecutive)
No. 4 Stanford (Auto – 2nd NCAA West Regional; 28th NCAA appearance, 26th consecutive)
No. 6 Oregon (At-Large – 3rd NCAA West Regional; 44th NCAA appearance, eighth consecutive)
No. 14 Washington (At-Large – 4th NCAA West Regional; 17th NCAA appearance, third consecutive)
Colin Burke, UCLA (Individual – 5th NCAA West Regional)
Garrett Reynolds, UCLA (Individual – 11th NCAA West Regional)

It marks the sixth straight season at least four Pac-12 men’s programs reached the national title meet.

The Pac-12 owns the second-most men’s team (16) and most individual (25) national champions of any conference.

Thirty-one teams were selected to participate in the Championship. The top two teams automatically qualified from each of the nine regions, for a total of 18 teams. Thirteen additional teams were selected at-large. Thirty-eight individuals were selected to participate in each championship through an automatic qualifier and at-large selection process. All individual qualifiers finished in the top 25 in their regions.

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network