Skip to main content

Griffith, Jones earn Pac-12 wrestling honors

Mar 26, 2020

SAN FRANCISCO - The Pac-12 Conference has announced the 2020 Pac-12 Wrestling awards as voted on by the Pac-12 coaches. STANFORD redshirt freshman Shane Griffith (165) earns both Pac-12 Wrestler of the Year and Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year awards. ARIZONA STATE’s Zeke Jones was selected Pac-12 Wrestling Coach of the Year.

PAC-12 WRESTLER OF THE YEAR and FRESHMAN/NEWCOMER OF THE YEARShane Griffith, Stanford – Griffith becomes the third Cardinal ever to be named Pac-12 Wrestler of the Year, joining Nick Amuchastegui (2012) and Matt Gentry (2004). Griffith was a perfect 28-0 on the season, including a 13-0 mark in dual matches. He finished the year 3rd in the InterMat rankings at 165 pounds. No other freshman ranked higher in any other weight class. In addition to Wrestler of the Year accolades, Griffith was tabbed Pac-12 Freshman/Newcomer of the Year. He’s the fifth Cardinal to garner those honors, joining Joey McKenna (2016), Jim Wilson (2014), Zack Giesen (2007) and Matt Gentry (2002). Amateur Wrestling News also ranked Griffith 3rd in the nation as he carries the second-longest winning streak in school history. At 28-0, it’s the best start by a Stanford wrestler in program history. The Westwood, N.J., native earned Pac-12 Wrestler of the Week twice (Feb. 5, Feb. 19), captured the Pac-12 title at 165 pounds, and is one of eight finalists for the Dan Hodge Trophy, which is awarded to the nation’s best college wrestler.

PAC-12 WRESTLING COACH OF THE YEARZeke Jones, Arizona State – Jones was tabbed by his peers as Pac-12 Wrestling Coach of the Year. Jones led Arizona State to its third Pac-12 title in four years as he produced five Pac-12 champions – Brandon Courtney (125), Jacori Teemer (157), Anthony Valencia (174), Kordell Norfleet (197) and Tanner Hall (HWT).  Arizona State posted a 15-2 record this season, the first 15-win season in 31 years (1988-89). The Sun Devils posted seven wins against top 25 teams, including a victory over then-No. 1 Penn State that ended the Nittany Lions 60-match win streak. This is the third Pac-12 Coach of the Year honor for Jones as he also claimed the award in 2017 and 2018.