Skip to main content

Sun Devil Baseball's Gary Gentry Inducted Into College Baseball Hall of Fame

Aug 7, 2020

Official Release

TEMPE, Ariz. – Sun Devil Baseball great Gary Gentry had been inducted into the National College Baseball Hall of Fame as part of the 2020 class, the College Baseball Foundation announced.

Gentry was named the National Player of the Year by The Sporting News in 1967. 
He struck out 229 batters that season, a NCAA single-season record at the time and a total that remains second only to 2007 College Baseball Hall of Fame inductee Derek Tatsuno. He finished 1967 with a nation's best 17-1 record and a 1.14 ERA 
In two starts at the 1967 College World Series, he allowed only two earned runs in 23 innings for a miniscule 0.78 ERA. Included in those two starts was a 14-inning complete game win over Stanford in which he struck out 15 and scored the winning run. His other start in Omaha was a complete-game, 7-2 win over Oklahoma State in which he struck out 16. His 31 strikeouts are the second-most in a single CWS. 
He was twice named first-team All-American (Phoenix College in 1966, ASU in 1967) and twice to the All-World Series Tournament teams at Phoenix College in 1965 and Arizona State in 1967. He led teams to national championship wins at both levels (Phoenix College in 1965, ASU in 1967).

Gentry's induction into the NCBHOF pushes ASU's total to 12, tied with Texas for most Hall of Famers from a single school in college baseball.

National College Baseball Hall of Famers by School
Arizona State - 12
Texas - 12
Wichita State – 5
USC – 5
Miami – 5
Louisiana State - 4
Michigan - 4
Oklahoma State - 4

Gentry joins coaching legends Bobby Winkles and Dr. Jim Brock in the NCBHOF, as well as Golden Spikes Award winners Bob Horner, Mike Kelly and Oddibe McDowell, pitchers Joe Arnold, Eddie Bane and Floyd Bannister, outfield Rick Monday and infielders Sal Bando, Bob Horner and Alan Bannister.

ASU's National College Baseball Hall of Famers
Joe Arnold (ASU: 1968; HOF: 2015)
Sal Bando (ASU: 194-65 HOF: 2013)
Eddie Bane (ASU: 1971-73; HOF: 2008) 
Floyd Bannister (ASU: 1974-76; HOF: 2008) 
Alan Bannister (ASU: 1970-72; HOF: 2010) 
Jim Brock (ASU: 1972-94; HOF: 2007) 
Bob Horner (ASU: 1976-78; HOF: 2006)
Gary Gentry (ASU: 1967; HOF: 2020) 
Mike Kelly (ASU: 1989-91; HOF 2015)
Oddibe McDowell (ASU: 1983-84; HOF: 2011) 
Rick Monday (ASU: 1965; HOF: 2016) 
Bobby Winkles (ASU: 1959-71; HOF: 2006)
Join the conversation all season
Twitter: @ASU_Baseball | Facebook: Sun Devil Baseball | Instagram: ASU_Baseball