Skip to main content

Battey Joins NABC Player Development Coalition

Aug 17, 2020

BOULDER - University of Colorado junior forward Evan Battey has been selected to the inaugural National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) Player Development Coalition, the organization announced on Monday.

The NABC Player Development Coalition is a diverse collection of Division I men's basketball student-athletes that will provide valuable perspective and feedback on college basketball issues.

Battey, a native of View Park, Calif., has been active in student-athlete affairs during his first three years in Boulder. Last winter, he was picked as one of two CU student-athletes to serve on the Pac-12 Conference's Mental Health Task Force.

Battey, who has averaged 8.5 points and 5.1 rebounds over two seasons for the Buffaloes, is honored to be part of the initial Player Development Coalition.

"It's a special group of talented players," Battey said. "We hope to be the bridge between basketball student-athletes and the NCAA. One of the focal points of the group is that there's not enough college basketball players active in SAAC's (Student Athlete Advisory Committee) at their schools. It's up to our group to make sure our voices are heard."

In addition to creating a vehicle for student-athletes to address current issues, the Player Development Coalition will also provide members with numerous professional and personal development experiences. The coalition will meet quarterly – the first of which occurred last week - and have regular opportunities to address the NABC Board of Directors and NCAA committees.

"Evan Battey is the epitome of the consummate student-athlete" Colorado head coach Tad Boyle said. "Evan will not only represent the University of Colorado well on this coalition, he will represent basketball student-athletes nationally. He is a true leader."

Joining Battey on the Player Development Coalition are North Carolina's Armando Bacot, Kentucky's Keion Brooks, Jr., Harvard's Kale Catchings, Villanova's Collin Gillespie, Gonzaga's Corey Kispert, Michigan State's Joshua Langford, Duke's Wendell Moore, Jr., TCU's RJ Nembhard, Syracuse's Bourama Sidibe and High Point's John-Michael Wright.

"Our priority as coaches is to support student-athlete development both on and off the court," said NABC Executive Director Craig Robinson. "As the NABC continues its advocacy and policy work on issues impacting our game, it's vital that input from student-athletes be central to those efforts. Whether it's NIL, transfer parameters, social justice, COVID-19 or a host of other important topics currently impacting college basketball, we will make sure student-athletes' voices are heard." 

"We will also structure the Player Development Coalition to be an impactful experience that benefits these young men well beyond their college years," added Robinson.
2020-21 NABC Player Development Coalition Roster
Armando Bacot, North Carolina – So.
Evan Battey, Colorado – Jr.
Keion Brooks, Jr., Kentucky – So.
Kale Catchings, Harvard – Jr.
Collin Gillespie, Villanova – Sr.
Corey Kispert, Gonzaga – Sr.
Joshua Langford, Michigan State – Sr.
Wendell Moore, Jr., Duke – So.
RJ Nembhard, TCU – Jr.
Bourama Sidibe, Syracuse – Sr.
John-Michael Wright, High Point – So.