Skip to main content

Buffs' Bey To Participate In NBA 'Virtual Combine'

Sep 28, 2020

BOULDER — Former Colorado Buffaloes standout Tyler Bey will be one of 61 players participating in the NBA's "Virtual Combine" ahead of the Nov. 18 NBA Draft.

Last season's Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, Bey elected to forego his senior year at Colorado and make himself available for the draft. A first-round projection in a number of mock drafts, Bey last season won the conference rebounding title with a 9.0 average, and he also led Colorado in shooting percentage (.530), streals (1.5 per game) and blocked shots (1.2 bpg), while also finishing second on the team in scoring at 13.7 points per game.

According to an NBA press release, "NBA Draft Combine 2020 will give players the opportunity to participate in league and team interviews, both conducted via videoconference from Sept. 28 through Oct. 16. Players will also take part in an individual on-court program consisting of strength and agility testing, anthropometric measurements, shooting drills and a 'Pro Day' video, all conducted in October at the NBA team facility nearest to a player's home or interim residence.  Medical testing and examinations will be performed by NBA-affiliated physicians in the same market."

The NBA will conduct interviews with each player answering the same set of 10 questions, and that video will be made available to all 30 teams. Beginning Oct. 1, teams may conduct direct 30-minute interviews with players, with each team allowed to interview a maximum of 20 players and each player limited to 13 total interviews.

Bey is one of nine Pac-12 players to participate in the combine. The others are Arizona's Josh Green, Nico Mannion and Zeke Nnaji; Washington's Jaden McDaniels and Isaiah Stewart; Washington State's CJ Elleby; Oregon's Payton Pritchard; and Stanford's Tyrell Terry.

The complete list of participants:

Precious Achiuwa, Memphis
Ty-Shon Alexander, Creighton
Deni Avdija, Maccabi Tel Aviv (Israel)
Udoka Azubuike, Kansas
LaMelo Ball, Chino Hills HS (Calif.)/Illawarra (Oceania)
Desmond Bane, TCU
Tyler Bey, Colorado
Vernon Carey Jr., Duke
Yoeli Childs, BYU
Mamadi Diakite, Virginia
Devon Dotson, Kansas
Paul Eboua, VL Pesaro (Italy)
CJ Elleby, Washington State
Malachi Flynn, San Diego State
Trent Forrest, Florida State
Josh Green, Arizona
Ashton Hagans, Kentucky
Tyrese Haliburton, Iowa State
Josh Hall, Movarian Prep (N.C.)
R.J. Hampton, Little Elm HS (Texas)/New Zealand Breakers (Oceania)
Jalen Harris, Nevada
Killian Hayes, Ratiopharm Ulm (Germany)
Markus Howard, Marquette
Elijah Hughes, Syracuse
Isaiah Joe, Arkansas
Mason Jones, Arkansas
Tre Jones, Duke
Nathan Knight, William & Mary
Kira Lewis Jr., Alabama
Theo Maledon, ASVEL (France)
Karim Mane, Vanier College (Canada)
Nico Mannion, Arizona
Naji Marshall, Xavier
Kenyon Martin Jr., IMG Academy (Fla.)
Skylar Mays, LSU
Jaden McDaniels, Washington
Sam Merrill, Utah State
Zeke Nnaji, Arizona
Jordan Nwora, Louisville
Isaac Okoro, Auburn
Daniel Oturu, Minnesota
Reggie Perry, Mississippi State
Myles Powell, Seton Hall
Payton Pritchard, Oregon
Immanuel Quickley, Kentucky
Jahmi'us Ramsey, Texas Tech
Paul Reed Jr., DePaul
Nick Richards, Kentucky
Grant Riller, Charleston
Jayden Scrubb, John A. Logan College (Ill.)
Jalen Smith, Maryland
Cassius Stanley, Duke
Lamar Stevens, Penn State
Isaiah Stewart, Washington
Tyrell Terry, Stanford
Killian Tillie, Gonzaga
Xavier Tillman Sr., Michigan State
Kaleb Wesson, Ohio State
Kahlil Whitney, Kentucky
Cassius Winston, Michigan State
Robert Woodard II, Mississippi State