Skip to main content

Huskies Set For Final Day At 2020 European Championships

Oct 10, 2020

World Rowing Coverage

The finals are set at the 2020 European Rowing Championships, and six of the eight Huskies competing in Poznan, Poland, remain in contention for medals.
 
On Saturday, just three of the eight saw action in semifinals and repechages in a bid to reach an A final, while five others had already qualified based on results from Friday, the first day of the regatta.
 
On the men's side, Serbian Viktor Pivac finished fourth in his pair semifinal and Croatian Ivan Piton came in sixth in his fours semi, placing each of them in a B final tomorrow. 
 
Two UW men – Simon van Dorp and Bram Schwarz of the Netherlands – will row in the men's eight A final.
 
Valentina Iseppi, in the two seat of the Italian women's quad, helped her crew into the A final. Needing to finish in the top two of her six-boat repechage, Iseppi and her teammates qualified relatively comfortably, dueling with the Swiss quad for first place. Italy finished in 6:25.61, just five one-hundredths of a second behind Switzerland (6:25.56), but well ahead of third-place Russia, three seconds back.
 
She and two other UW rowers from Italy will vie for medals on Sunday, as Chiara Ondoli will stroke the four and Carmela Pappalardo will row in the pair. Additionally, Tabea Schendekehl will stroke the German women's eight in its final.
 
Here are the results from today's races for crews featuring UW athletes, along with each individual's scheduled Sunday race. Follow all of the action at WorldRowing.com.
 
Men's Pair (M2-)
Viktor Pivac '18, SRB
Saturday: Finished 4th in A/B semifinal
Next B final, Saturday at 11:40 p.m. PT / Sunday at 8:40 a.m. CEST
 
Men's Four (M4-)
Ivan Piton '17, CRO
Saturday: Finished 6th in heat A/B semifinal
Next: B final, Sunday at 12:00 a.m. PT / 9:00 a.m. CEST
 
Men's Eight (M8+)
Simon van Dorp '20, NED
Bram Schwarz '20, NED
Friday: Finished 3rd in exhibition race (all boats to A final)
Next: A final, Sunday at 6:01 a.m. PT / 3:01 p.m. CEST
 
Women's Pair (W2-)
Carmela Pappalardo '20, ITA
Friday: Finished 2nd in heat
Next: A final, Sunday at 2:46 a.m. PT / 11:46 a.m. CEST
 
Women's Four (W4-)
Chiara Ondoli '18, ITA
Friday: Finished 1st in heat
Next: A final, Sunday at 3:46 a.m PT / 12:46 a.m. CEST
 
Women's Quad Sculls (W4x)
Valentina Iseppi '20, ITA
Saturday: Finished 2nd in repechage
Next: A final, Sunday at 4:46 a.m. PT / 1:46 p.m. CEST
 
Women's Eight (W8+)
Tabea Schendekehl '20, GER
Friday: Finished 3rd in exhibition race (all boats to A final)
Next: A final, Sunday at 5:16 a.m. PT/2:16 p.m. CEST