Skip to main content

Osborne Named to Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top 20 Watch List

Nov 10, 2020

Springfield, Mass. – Charisma Osborne has been tabbed to the 2021 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced Tuesday. Osborne is one of 20 players to be named to the preseason watch list for the top shooting guard in women's NCAA Division I college basketball.
"Charisma will be one of the top guards in the country this year," said The Michael Price Family UCLA Women's Head Basketball Coach Cori Close. "She has the potential to be one of the best guards to play at UCLA. This compliment doesn't surprise me at all. I love the way she is working on her leadership and mentality this year. The only one who can stop Charisma is Charisma.  She could be SPECIAL!"
Osborne enters her second season with the Bruins coming off a debut campaign that saw her earn Pac-12 All-Freshman accolades. She was third on the team with 12.2 points per game and set a new UCLA freshman record with 59 made three-pointers last season. She was the Bruins' second-leading rebounder (5.8 rpg) and ranked fourth in the Pac-12 with 89 offensive boards. Osborne notched 18 double-digit scoring performances in 2019-20, including a career-high 32 points at Washington State (Feb. 21). She added 11 rebounds in the team's win over WSU, becoming just the sixth Bruin to record a 30-10 game since 1999.
Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds of consideration for the nominees. The current watch list of 20 players will be narrowed to 10 in February, and then five finalists will be presented to Meyers Drysdale in early March. The winner of the 2021 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be presented on Friday, April 9, 2021, along with the rest of the Women's Starting Five.
Women's Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies is scheduled to go live on Friday, Nov. 13.
About Ann Meyers Drysdale:
This award is named for UCLA Women's Basketball legend, Ann Meyers Drysdale. She was the first player, male or female, to earn All-America honors in four straight years (1975-78) and helped lead the Bruins to an AIAW National Championship in 1978. She was the first player drafted into the Women's Basketball League and became the first woman to try out with an NBA team, as she signed a free agent contract with the Indiana Pacers in 1980. She was inducted into the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame in 1993 and has had a successful career as an executive in the WNBA. She is currently a Vice President for the Phoenix Mercury and a commentator for the Phoenix Suns.
2021 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Candidates*
Aari McDonald -- Arizona
Chelsea Dungee -- Arkansas
DiJonai Carrington -- Baylor
Christyn Williams -- Connecticut
Sonya Morris -- DePaul
Jill Townsend -- Gonzaga
Nicole Cardeño-Hillary -- Indiana
Dana Evans -- Louisville
Ashley Owusu -- Maryland
Jakia Brown-Turner -- NC State
Lindsey Pulliam -- Northwestern
Taylor Robertson -- Oklahoma
Taylor Mikesell -- Oregon
Arella Guirantes -- Rutgers
Zia Cooke -- South Carolina
Kiana Williams -- Stanford
Kiara Lewis -- Syracuse
Destiny Pitts -- Texas A&M
Charisma Osborne -- UCLA
Brynna Maxwell -- Utah
*Players can earn their way onto and off the list at any point in the 2020-21 season.