Skip to main content

USC’s Alissa Pili Named To Katrina McClain Award Watch List

Nov 12, 2020

USC post Alissa Pili has established herself as one of the most formidable forces in the nation, as the sophomore standout has secured a spot on the 2021 Katrina McClain Award Watch List as one of the country's top-20 power forwards. The Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and an All-Pac-12 Team honoree last season, Pili finished her debut year ranked in the nation's top-100 in five statistical categories. The Alaska native's power in the paint has since drawn national acclaim, as evident in this nod from the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women's Basketball Coaches Association announced today (Nov. 12) the 20 watch list candidates for the 2021 Katrina McClain Award. Named after the two-time All-American and 1987 National Player of the Year, the annual award in its fourth year recognizes the top power forwards in women's NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

"From the University of Georgia to Team USA, Katrina McClain was a standout power forward," said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. "To be named to the McClain Award watch list is a tremendous honor and we're proud to recognize these tremendous student athletes. As we launch our fan voting component tomorrow, we encourage fans to cast their votes alongside our distinguished selection committee."

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, Nov. 13.

In early February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2021 Katrina McClain Award will be narrowed to just 10. In early March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame's selection committee.

The winner of the 2021 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be presented on Friday, April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Women's Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men's Starting Five.

Established in 2018, previous winners of the Katrina McClain Power Forward of the Year Award include Ruthie Hebard, Oregon (2020), Napheesa Collier, Connecticut (2019) and Ruthy Hebard, Oregon (2018).

For more information on the 2021 Katrina McClain Award and the latest updates, visit and follow @hoophall and #McClainAward on Twitter and Instagram.