Skip to main content

UCLA's 1964 Champs to Enter Collegiate Hall of Fame

Nov 28, 2020
UCLA's 1964 NCAA Basketball Team

1963-64 Stats | 1963-64 Roster | Hall of Fame's Website

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – UCLA's NCAA championship men's basketball team from 1963-64, along with two other historic college basketball squads, will be inducted into the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2020.
The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame, based in Kansas City, Mo., made the announcement on Saturday afternoon.
Also set for induction in the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame is Texas Western's 1965-66 squad and Indiana's 1975-76 team. The three teams will be inducted during a special live National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame Induction Celebration presented by Nike streaming event in early 2021.
UCLA's 1963-64 team won the school's first NCAA title in men's basketball, posting a perfect 30-0 record under head coach John Wooden. That championship marked the first of 10 titles that the Bruins won during a 12-year span. In addition, that season marked the first of four 30-0 seasons for UCLA, a feat which the Bruins repeated in 1966-67, 1971-72 and 1972-73.
The Bruins posted a perfect 15-0 record in the AAWU, the Athletic Association of Western Universities, before defeating Seattle, San Francisco and Kansas State on the way to the national title game. The Bruins used a 16-0 scoring run in the first half to defeat Duke, 98-83, in the championship contest.
Junior Gail Goodrich and senior Walt Hazzard helped lead the way for UCLA that season. Goodrich averaged a team-leading 21.5 points per game and registered 5.2 rebounds per game. Hazzard averaged 18.6 points and 4.7 rebounds per game, en route to earning the Oscar Robertson Trophy as the nation's premier player.
The National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame is located inside the College Basketball Experience (CBE), a world-class experiential entertainment facility adjacent to Kansas City's T-Mobile Center. The Class of 2020 will be the 15th induction class in the Hall of Fame's history.