Skip to main content

Landman Earns National, Pac-12 Player of Week Honors, Named Butkus Semifinalist

Nov 30, 2020

Pac-12 Player of the Week

                BOULDER – It was a good weekend for University of Colorado senior inside linebacker Nate Landman, beginning with a monster effort in CU's 20-10 win over San Diego State. 
                Against the Aztecs, he recorded 11 tackles (10 solo), which included six stops at or behind the line of scrimmage: three quarterback sacks, a tackle for loss, and two tackles for zero gains.  He had four third down stops, as all three of his sacks were on third downs, and added a pass broken up (also on third down) and a touchdown save.  He was in for all 59 snaps on defense, and on special teams duty, he added a forced fair catch on punt coverage.
                On Sunday (Nov. 29), Landman was selected as the Walter Camp Football Foundation's National Defensive Player of the Week, the first defensive Buffalo to earn the honor since CB Terrence Wheatley for his three interception game at Texas Tech in 2007.  Otherwise, you have to go back to 1996 for the player previously honored, FS Steve Rosga against Oklahoma State.
                On Monday (Nov. 30), the selection committee for the 36th annual Butkus Award announced 16 semifinalists, which included Landman.  The Buffaloes have two previous winners, Alfred Williams (1990) and Matt Russell (1996); two runner-ups, Ted Johnson (1994) and Jordon Dizon (2007), and one other semifinalist, Greg Biekert (1992).  Russell also finished fourth for the honor in 1995.

                Later Monday (Nov. 30), he was named the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Week for the second time this season and for the second straight game.  He joins Tedric Thompson (2016) as the only two players to earn Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Week honors twice in the same season and he's the seventh player overall to accomplish the feat.  The others are Bill Brundige (1969), Bill Roe (1979), Darris Schubeck (1986), Art Walker (1989) and Steve Rosga (1996).  Landman joins Roe as the only two players to win conference defensive player of the week honors for consecutive games, Roe doing so for the final two games of that season, at Kansas (Nov. 17) and vs. Kansas State (Nov. 24). 
                Landman leads the team in tackles with 37, and also has team-bests of eight third down stops (which include two on fourth down), and four tackles for zero which also gives him a team-high of nine stops at or behind the line of scrimmage when including his five tackles for losses.  For his career, he is now 14th in total tackles (314), ninth in unassisted stops (213), 19th in tackles for loss (30), 44th in quarterback sacks (9, but that's the fifth-most by an inside linebacker), sixth in third down stops (41) and first in fourth down stops (8).
                The Butkus Award semifinalists:  Christian Harris, Alabama; Grant Morgan, Arkansas; Nate Landman, Colorado; Nakobe Dean, Georgia; Monty Rice, Georgia; Jabril Cox, LSU; Nick Bolton, Missouri; Chazz Surratt, North Carolina; Jeremiah Owusu-Koramoah, Notre Dame; Pete Werner, Ohio State; Olakunle Fatukasi, Rutgers; Ernest Jones, South Carolina; Buddy Johnson, Texas A&M; Zaven Collins, Tulsa; Devin Lloyd, Utah; and Charles Snowden, Virginia.
                Finalists for the award will be announced next Monday, Dec. 7, with the winner to be selected on Dec. 22.